While many people are waking up to the health risks of consuming gluten, they are often left wondering if certain food products contain the protein or not. For example, corn starch is a very common ingredient in foods and recipes, which makes it important to know if this ingredient is safe.
Is Corn Starch Gluten Free? Does corn starch has gluten in it or not?
As the name suggests, corn starch comes to use from corn. Corn kernels are ground down to create a lumpy powder-like substance. The proteins, oils and other non-starch elements found naturally in corn are then separated from the starch through different refining processes. The end result is a powder that is used in a wide variety of processed foods as well as home cooking.
Corn starch tends to be manufactured on an industrial scale. To keep these facilities profitable, they usually process a variety of plants and food items. This means the same machinery may process barley that contains gluten one day followed by the processing of corn starch the next day. Since the machinery is never truly clean, cross-contamination becomes a real problem.
How do you avoid the cross-contamination threat? The first approach is to buy cornstarch from food companies that guarantee no cross-contamination. The companies can make this claim because they use one set of machines solely for gluten free substances while using a separate set for products that contain gluten. For example, Hearth Club, Argo & Kingsford Corn Starch, and Bob’s Red Mill Corn Starch are brands known to be gluten free.
The second approach is to read corn starch labels closely. Many companies now list the different plants and foods processed on the same equipment. If you see barley or another gluten grain listed on a corn starch label, you will know the product is unsafe for people suffering from gluten intolerance.
Gluten-Free Corn Starch Brands
If you are looking for gluten-free corn starch brands in the market, then you can try the brands below here:
- Argo & Kingsford’s corn starch. This brand provide 2 products: baking powder and cornstarch. For more detailed information about its products, you can read faq page.
- Bob’s Red Mill corn starch. This product is made for people who are sensitive to gluten or oats. To provide safe products for customers, the company tests all of its products.
- Clabber Girl. Clabber Girl is a famous manufacturer of baking powder. The company works with Hearth Club to produce corn starch with no gluten. You can check it at faq page. All of its products are tested to GF-20 or 20 parts per million.