When you are not tolerant to gluten, you should be very careful when eating anything. It is caused you need to make sure that all the things you eat is free from gluten. However, you are continually exposed to the food that you do not know their ingredient such as oats. That is why you should wonder are oats gluten free? You should know that the protein available inside the oats are actually different from the protein that available inside the wheat, rye, or barley. This is why it is actually safe for you to consume the oats. However, there are some people who have an autoimmune response to the grains so your doctor might suggest you to not eating it.
Are Oats Gluten Free? Do Oats have gluten in it or not?
The question about the oats that might contain gluten exist because there are some oats that contaminated by wheat grains. The reason why the wheat could contaminate the oats is because they are often planted in close farmland next to each other. Furthermore, they would also use the same elevator to bring the grain from the farm, they even used the same miller and containers to process both harvests. That is why the contamination happened on the process so the oats would not be pure anymore.
However in our modern time, more and more people are becoming aware of this situation and demand for a change. That is why some farmer has decided to separate the farmland of both harvests for further distance so they would not mix. They also use a separated elevator, miller and containers to process the oats. With this they could keep the quality of the oats, thus makes it pure from any contaminator. When the oats are in a pure condition like that, then we could say the oats are gluten free.
Finding pure oats without gluten
Even with a new method you should be very careful when you purchase any oats product to make sure that you get the pure oats that do not contaminated by any other grains. There are a few things that you need to do in order to find it such as:
- Search pure oats brands: there are actually many brands that specialize in providing pure oats such as Bob’s Red Mill, GF Harvest, Glutenfreeda Foods, Holly’s Oatmeal, Montana Gluten-Free, and many others.
- Read the label: even if those brands are known to provide pure oats you should read the label very carefully because some of their products also contains gluten. Find the label that stated gluten free product.
- Search the website: when you not sure whether the product really pure or not, you could search on the website because some of them are usually informed about it in their official website. For example, Quaker Oats has informed us in their website that they could not guarantee if their product is pure or not. That way we could say that they might not do any necessary things to separate the process of their oats with the other grains so it might be possible that there is some contamination in their product.