Celiac diseases peoples need to avoid eat or consume any foods that derived from grains, rye, and barley. Grains, rye, and barley are the sources of gluten which can make some healthy problems for celiac disease people. Sadly, there is no cure for this disease and the best that the gluten sensitivity people can do is to do gluten free diet program by choose foods without gluten at all.
IsYogurt Gluten Free? DoesYogurt Have Gluten In It Or Not?
When you want to eat yogurt; what you need to know is the information about whether the yogurt free from gluten. We all know that yogurt is derived from milk and milk is gluten-free. Plain yogurt is made from milk that fermented with some bacteria which can make the yogurt thicker and have a tangy taste. Is yogurt gluten free? The answer is yes that yogurt is gluten-free. Therefore, celiac disease people do not be afraid to eat yogurt, although there is some exception. The exception for you is never to try to eat yogurt with extra gluten ingredients. It is mean that you can eat only plain yogurt without any food additives.
Several Problems which can Occur in Frozen Yogurt
Frozen yogurt is delicious, has a great taste, and yummy. But there are some risks which you need to pay attention when a purchase is frozen yogurt at stores such as:
- Cross contamination at frozen yogurt bar: If you decide to go to frozen yogurt bar, you need to be careful with cross contamination which can actually happen. You can see that the frozen yogurt bar likes to group the toppings in one row and then any people can freely take it to eat it with the yogurt. If the frozen yogurt bar decides to group the gluten toppings with the non-gluten toppings, you should be careful. For example, the fruits which free from gluten can be placed side by side with cookie dough or brownie bits. This will lead to gluten cross-contamination. Moreover, you also need to pay attention to the serving spoon. Maybe there are people who use it to take gluten foods and next put it back on free gluten foods.
- Watched the frozen yogurt machine: Sometimes, the frozen yogurt machine grouped with two different flavours. One is gluten-free flavour, and other is gluten flavour. That is why you need to be careful when you found this case. For example, cookies and cream flavor with strawberry flavour; of course, that’s not okay for you.
- A machine which used to make the yogurt: Pay attention with the machine to make the yogurt. It is often that people usually use one machine to make yogurt in any flavours. They can make gluten flavours with one machine and then use it again to make other flavours that are not gluten-free. Anyway, do not trust that the machine is clean after one use since people sometimes too lazy to clean it frequently.
We hope this information can be useful in your gluten-free program. Do not worry about eating yogurt as long as you can watch it properly.
Wine is a beverage that everyone must love; that is why you surely do not want to miss the opportunity to able to enjoy a good wine with a nice dinner. But for you who have gluten sensitivity, you should be wondering is wine gluten-free because you might get some symptom when you drink it.
IsWine Gluten Free? DoesWine Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Gluten Free Wine That Safe To Drink
You should know that wine is gluten-free because in most cases, it only contains 20 parts per million, so you should not get any symptom that could make you feel sick. However, some of you might feel sick when they drink wine; the reason is not because of the wine itself because it is gluten-free.
Sometimes your wine might have been contaminated by other things that contain gluten so it could alter your gluten-free wine then it would not free from gluten anymore. Things that could contaminate your wine, for example, are the colouring or flavouring that used on your wine. This is because they might use other things inside the colouring and flavoring that contains gluten ingredient. That is why you should be careful when choosing your wine and search ingredient information from the manufacturer. It would be better when you choose pure wine that does not contain any colouring or flavouring that could contaminate your wine.
But some of you might also feel the symptom even when you drink pure wine without any added ingredient. The reason is that you are too sensitive even to the smallest amount of gluten that other people could not feel. During the making process of wine, there are also other things that used which may contain gluten. First, there is wine fining that usually made from wheat gluten; the same ingredient also used as a clarifying agent on the wine. There is also paste that created from wheat that used to seal the wooden casks where the wine is aged.
Because of those wheat ingredient used in the making process of wine, then there would be around 1 or 2 parts per million gluten inside the wine. However, this number is actually very small so most people who allergic to gluten would not feel it. Only you who are too sensitive to gluten could feel it.
That is why when you are too sensitive to gluten; it would be better when you search for a wine that aged inside a stainless steel cask so they would not have to use wheat paste to seal it. You also need to contact the vineyard to ask for their fining agent that they used on their wine to make sure that they do not use any wheat ingredient inside their fining agent. But the best way that you could do after you made all of that effort and be able to find a wine that suitable for you is you should not change to other wine. And always buy wine from the same brand since they usually used the same method to make all of their wine variety.
Does anyone know about wild rice? Is wild rice gluten-free? If you suffer from celiac disease, you should know whether wild rice which you eat contains gluten or not. Before we answer the question regarding wild rice, you should know for the first what is wild rice actually.
Is Wild Rice Gluten Free? Does Wild Rice Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Wild Rice
Since its name contains “rice” on it, you may imagine or think that wild rice is one type of rice such as brown rice or red rice or white rice, but actually it is not. Wild rice is not rice, and it is actually considered as grass or semi-aquatic grass that live in small lakes or small rivers. From it, you can harvest some grains. Wild rice also has another name such as water oats, Canada rice, and Indian rice.
Moreover, wild rice did not relate to any Asian rice that we usually see. Wild rice has a chewy form for the sheath while the inner is tenderer. It also has some vegetal taste. Many people like to mix wild rice with white rice because they almost have the same texture, but it tastier than white rice because it has a slight flavour.
Wild rice even though it almost has the same texture as white rice, but it has a dark colour. It also contains a lot of nutrition which good for the body and you can be creative by add and mix wild grains in any dishes, but usually, people like to mix it with white rice to create delicious wild rice mix.
Wild Rice and Gluten Free
Good news for you celiac disease people that wild rice considered to be gluten-free. Unfortunately, if you buy wild rice in the market, some brands are adding extra gluten ingredients in the wild rice. Extra wheat ingredient such as soy sauce usually added to the wild rice, so it has a more delicious taste. Therefore, you need to always check the label and the ingredient to make sure that the wild rice you buy is really free from gluten. Consider this might be happen then only plain wild rice is gluten free.
Wild Rice Brand that Considered to be Gluten Free
If you want to know whether there is wild rice brand considered to be gluten-free then yes it is. For example, you can buy wild rice product from Zatarain’s New Orleans. This brand does not process the wild rice product with any gluten ingredients. Although they add soy sauce in the product, but they use soy sauce that made from soybeans and not wheat. Therefore, you can freely consume the product and enjoy it in your gluten-free diet recipe.
As a warning, always check the label when you want to purchase wild rice product. Pay attention in some product that processed in the shared facility with wheat, barley, or rye. If they use a shared facility, then it may be the subject of cross contamination. Moreover, to make sure the wild rice is gluten free, you can ask the company on your own.
When you bake, you might need to use some yeast on your recipe; however, when you only make gluten-free baking, then you should be asking is yeast gluten free or not. Since you need to be very careful in anything you eat. Especially when you do gluten-free baking because you have celiac disease, which means you could not tolerate gluten in any of your food. When you get gluten inside the food even from a small thing, then you would be sick, which could lead to something more dangerous than just nausea.
IsYeast Gluten Free? DoesYeast Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How could we tell that yeast is gluten-free?
Yeast is a derived product, which means it is taken from something else. This is why to know whether it is gluten-free or not; then you should also know where it is coming from. There are many kinds of yeast that you could find so you should search which type of yeast you use for your baking.
- Active dry yeast: this type of yeast is not common yeast used for baking because it is still in raw form so you usually could not find on the store. The one who uses this kind of yeast is usually professional since they need to process it first before using it. However, since this yeast is still raw, then we could say that it is gluten-free.
- Autolyzed yeast: this type of yeast is a breakdown form of the yeast itself, but it still contains the yeast cell walls, so it is also gluten-free. However, you should be very careful in autolyzed yeast extract because this type of yeast is not gluten free because it is usually made from barley.
- Baker’s yeast: this type of yeast is the one that you usually find on the market which you could use as a leavening agent whenever you do your baking process. This type of yeast is gluten-free.
- Nutritional yeast: this type of yeast is actually yeast that has been deactivated. They seel it as a food product to be used inside your recipe for a condiment. That is why we could say that it is gluten-free.
- Brewer’s yeast: this type of yeast is derived from many kinds of things, but the most common one is taken from barley, which means that it is not gluten-free. However, when it is not taken from barley, then you could say it is gluten-free. What you need to be careful about is that the fact of barley is inside the ingredient of any food is not always call out on the package because there is no regulation on it. That is why it would be better not to consume any of it unless there is a clear gluten-free label on the package.
After you know all the fact about yeast, it would be easier for you to find yeast that is gluten-free. But you still need to search on the package for dangerous yeast such as brewer’s yeast type.
Whenever you want to cook something, you surely not forget to add Worcestershire Sauce inside your food to make it taste better. But after you know that you have celiac disease, you should be very careful when adding anything to your food because you do not want your food to be contaminated by gluten. However is Worcestershire Sauce gluten-free or not, since you might not know what is inside this sauce. The sauce itself has been developed since the early of eighteen century, with more than a hundred years old recipe; you would not be sure whether the recipe is gluten-free or not.
IsWorcestershire Sauce Gluten Free? DoesWorcestershire Sauce Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Worcestershire Sauce
Because Worcestershire Sauce is made over a hundred years ago in, you should be very happy since they made it in pure ingredient with an only little chemical inside so it would be very healthy for someone that has to always pay attention to health such as yourself. Inside the recipe of Worcestershire Sauce made in the United Kingdom, you would be able to find malt vinegar, sugar, anchovies, tamarind and many others. When you see this recipe, you surely find malt vinegar to be suspicious.
When you go to Lea & Perrins Company United Kingdom website, they will state that most of their Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free. But then what about the malt vinegar ingredient that is inside the recipe should malt be containing gluten as it has to? The malt in that ingredient is made from barley that consider as one source that produces gluten inside its grain. However, the Lea & Perrins Company also said that through the distillation process applied to the barley, it would be able to remove the gluten inside it, and then it would be gluten-free. But we could not be too sure about this because there is no exactly proof on this, which is why it would be up to you to decide whether this kind of Worcestershire Sauce is considered gluten-free or not.
Gluten-free Worcestershire Sauce
Luckily for you who live in the United States, the Lea & Perrins Company made their Worcestershire Sauce using a different kind of ingredient. Inside the United States ingredient, they do not use any malt vinegar so the Worcestershire Sauce would not contain any gluten inside. That is why for Worcestershire Sauce that is made in the United States factory, we could say that it is gluten-free.
That is why when you want to find Worcestershire Sauce that is gluten-free, you should try to find one that is made inside the United States. Try to find on the package where the Worcestershire Sauce is made, then to make sure that it is really gluten free you should also check their ingredient if there were malt vinegar used as the ingredient of the Worcestershire Sauce. When they only stated vinegar as the ingredient, then you could try to ask whether the vinegar is made from something that might contain gluten or not. But usually, Worcestershire Sauce made in the United States is gluten-free.
Rice is one of the main dishes people always eat, especially in Asia countries. But the question which keeps remaining in certain celiac disease people is whether rice contains gluten and safe to eat? There is a lot of rice types available such as brown rice, red rice, black rice, and white rice. Most people use white rice since it easy to find, cheaper, and of course, tasty. Is white rice gluten-free? The answer is “yes”. Not only white rice but most types of rice are gluten-free, and that is why you can enjoy eating rice even though you suffer from celiac disease which needed to avoid gluten.
Is White Rice Gluten Free? Does White Rice Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Be Careful: Contamination in White Rice
Plain white rice is gluten-free, and it is safe to be eaten. If the white rice contains gluten, then it is possible because the rice gets some contamination from gluten ingredients or foods. Contamination in white rice can occur during the preparation stage. For example, in some restaurant, the chef can prepare and cook the white rice with the same appliances to make gluten foods. If that is the case, then it is possible that white rice can be contaminated with gluten. Again, if the chef uses extra ingredients to make the white rice taste better, then you need to ask what ingredients the chef added since he or she may use gluten ingredients. Anyway, you should not be stressful after hearing what we mention above. You can always ask the chef to carefully prepare the white rice according to your taste.
Be Careful: Contamination of White Rice in Your Kitchen
Since not all restaurant pays their attention for celiac disease people or maybe you cannot always ask about the ingredients added to the white rice and then most gluten sensitivity people prefer to cook their rice on their own in the kitchen. Cook white rice in your own kitchen does not mean you can always free from gluten. If you prepare the dishes in the wrong ways, then you may accidentally do some cross-contamination in white rice. For example, if you use a bowl to make some dough with wheat flour then cleans it by wiping the leftover flour out. After that, you use the same bowl to prepare the white rice and veggies; it is possible that the white rice will contaminate by gluten.
If you store the white rice packages above or below wheat flour packages, the wheat flour may sneak into the white rice, and it will be contaminated with gluten. Therefore, make sure you never try to store the white rice side by side with the flour or even put it in the same shelf of wheat flour.
Be Careful: Contamination at Stores
The same case may happen in the stores when you purchase white rice. It is better for you to avoid buying white rice in bulk bins since you do not know how the store handle the rice. Moreover, be careful when the white rice stored in the same shelves with wheat flour, bread, or even dry grains since the rice may cross-contaminated with the grains and flour.
Celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity need to avoid any gluten foods and its derived. If they want to eat some dishes, they really need to be careful and think twice before swallow it. Not only foods which celiac disease people need to care, but there are also some drinks derived from grains which needed to be avoided since grains are the source of gluten.
Is Whiskey Gluten Free? Does Whiskey Have Gluten In It Or Not?
When you go out than attend some dinner party, maybe you will be served with whiskey. Is whiskey gluten free? We do not have an exact answer for this since it depends on whom you asked. There are two different opinions related to whiskey, whether it is gluten-free or not. Some people agree that whiskey is safe to be consumed by celiac disease people since the gluten level inside whiskey is still on the twenty parts per million standards. Whiskey is made from grains, that is barley and barley is one of the main gluten sources, including wheat, and rye. Even though whiskey is derived from barley since the level of gluten below the standard of twenty parts per million, some people conclude that whiskey is gluten-free. Especially because of distillation will remove the gluten protein. Therefore, celiac disease people can enjoy drinking whiskey or cocktail which made from distilled alcohol.
Unfortunately, there still other people who do not agree with this conclusion. For example, Celiac Sprue Association suggests that whiskey does not feel safe to be consumed with celiac disease people even though the level of gluten below the standard of twenty parts per million. They prefer to recommend gluten intolerance people to choose tequila, potato vodka, and rum, which made from gluten-free sources.
Is Whiskey Safe to be consumed by Gluten Intolerance People?
For those who have higher sensitivity of gluten, it is better to avoid whiskey or scotch because you may suffer several gluten reactions. But, there still other people who have celiac disease safe to consume whiskey or scotch since they do not have a higher level of gluten sensitivity. If you do not make sure whether you will get gluten reactions from these alcohols, then you may need to avoid it just to be safe.
Is Distillation Process on Whiskey will be Totally Removed the Gluten Protein?
We cannot be sure that the distillation process will 100 percent remove the gluten inside whiskey since it is possible after the distillation process; some part of gluten will come back. Moreover, some companies which produce whiskey may add caramel colouring. If that’s what happens, then the alcohol or whiskey will contain gluten once again.
Last but not least, so we suggest that if you want to try whiskey just go slowly. You may do not have any reaction or problems by drinking whiskey or scotch, but if you do, then you can pick unflavored rum instead or just go with potato vodka. Anyway, there is one brand that you can consume and surely it safe for celiac disease people named Queen Jennie Whiskey since it is gluten-free and does not make from any grains.
One task that people with celiac disease have to do is to make sure that they do not accidentally eat anything with gluten in it. This might be a daunting thing to do, especially when you do not know what you should look for. This is why you should always advance your knowledge of all ingredients that might be available in all kinds of food that you may eat. One thing that might be triggering for your curiosity is whey protein gluten-free or not. Since the word protein is used, and then you might become afraid that the protein is the same one as the gluten protein.
Is Whey Protein Gluten Free? Does Whey Protein Have Gluten In It Or Not?
More Information about whey protein ingredient
To know more about the kind of protein is available inside whey protein, you should know what this food is made from. The ingredient used in this whey protein is mainly milk because it is taken as a liquid from the leftover of cheese making. From this ingredient, we could be sure that the whey protein is a different kind of protein from what you always find on gluten. That is why we could also say that pure whey protein is gluten-free.
However, there is also some variety of whey protein that is not made only from milk since they also add some peptide bound glutamine which actually taken from the wheat protein. For this version of whey protein, then it would not be gluten-free anymore since there is already gluten inside it from the wheat protein. That is why when you want to purchase any whey protein, try to find the purest product that you could find that does not add with anything at all. And do not forget to check the packaging of it to search if there is a gluten-free label on the product, which means you would be safe when consuming it.
The danger of whey protein allergy
Even though the whey protein does not contain any gluten, however, it would still be dangerous for certain people. Some of you who have celiac disease may feel sick after you consume it; however, it is not because of you sick from gluten, but because you are experiencing some allergy from this whey protein. The allergy is caused by lactase available inside the whey protein; for some people with celiac disease, they often have bad intestine that makes them unable to break this lactase thus makes them feel sick whenever they eat it. For this kind of people, they would have both celiac disease and lactose allergy; this is why they should also avoid whey protein even though they do not contain any gluten.
Using whey protein for celiac disease people
However, for you who do not have any allergy to whey protein, then consuming whey protein would be very useful since this type of protein contains high nutrition. This is why people often used whey protein as a form of a substitute for the protein that they could not get from wheat. So it would actually very recommend for you to consume whey protein.
If you want to find a food that does not contain gluten, then you need to make some list about gluten-free diet ingredients and products. We all know that celiac disease people need to avoid gluten because their body cannot endure gluten protein from grains such as rye, wheat, and barley. If they insist on consuming food that contains gluten, they will suffer from various symptoms such as nausea or want to vomit, anaemia, migraine, headache, and many more. The bad news is there is no cure for celiac disease and the only way to keep your body healthy is to do a gluten-free diet program. With a gluten-free diet program, you need to prepare it carefully by always watch out for foods containing gluten.
Is Vanilla Extract Gluten Free? Does Vanilla Extract Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How about vanilla? Is vanilla extract gluten-free? Can people who suffer from celiac disease eat meals or foods with vanilla extract? To answer those questions first, you need to know which vanilla extract come from, and so you can make your own conclusion from it. Vanilla made from dried vanilla pods or fruits, and the fruit itself comes from a flower and not grains such as wheat, rye, or barley. From that information, we can say sure that vanilla extract are gluten-free. Moreover, not a usual flower but vanilla extracted from orchid, and it is good as extra ingredients when you want to prepare dishes or foods such as dessert or baked meals. Vanilla also used for perfume and cosmetic products.
The Benefits of Vanilla and its Extracts
Vanilla and its extract have a lot of benefit and usefulness. For example, they are used for food flavouring because they have nice aroma or smell. Not only that, but perfume from vanilla also useful to enhance the mood and energize the day. Even there is some expert said that vanilla also used as an aphrodisiac.
Nowadays, vanilla mostly used as vanilla extract. The vanilla extract itself contains vanilla beans, water, and alcohol. If you do not like alcohol and prefer vanilla flavouring with natural and pure ingredients, then you can tell by the alcohol level. Pure vanilla flavouring contains little alcohol by two or three percent and there also vanilla flavouring that contains no alcohol at all and only contains with vanilla fruit beans and water. If you suffer from celiac disease, it is better to avoid vanilla, which contains alcohol since we know that most alcohol derived from grains such as wheat. Therefore, you need to purchase gluten-free vanilla. Always try to check the label whether the vanilla extract contains gluten alcohol or not.
Vanillin VS Vanilla
Be careful with vanillin if you want to make some dessert. Vanillin is not real vanilla and it made from chemical ingredients which processed to smell like vanilla extract. That is why when you want to add vanilla in your baked foods; you should can differentiate between vanillin and real or pure vanilla extract. Anyway, as extra information, if you want to bake your bread use vanilla extract in the exact amount like the recipes mention since vanilla has strong flavour and smell, so too little or too much vanilla extract will have really big different taste.
Sometimes you would find things that contain wheat grass on the food that you want to purchase. But as someone who has celiac disease that should always avoid many kinds of things which contain gluten, you should be shocking when you read wheat on the package of the food. The first thing you may have when you read is that the food contains gluten. But how is this grass behind the wheat words affect the gluten, and then is wheat grass gluten-free or not? You should know more information about this plant yourself.
Is Wheat Grass Gluten Free? Does Wheat Grass Have Gluten In It Or Not?
About Wheat Grass
From the wheat plant, you could actually take two things which are the wheat grain that contains gluten protein inside the seed, and the wheat grass itself. When you see that grass does not contain any grains, then you could say it is pure so it would not contain gluten since the gluten is only available inside the grains. This is why we could say that wheat grass is gluten free. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration even said that any food which contains wheat grass inside the ingredient could still use the gluten-free label as long as their finished product still be able to pass the 20 parts per million standards. That is why eating food that contains wheat grass would be fine for you.
Wheat Grass and Gluten
Even if you already know that wheat grass does not contain gluten, however, there are still some ways that the wheat grass could contain gluten. To know more about this we should pay more attention on how the wheat grass produces and the manufacturing process of the food that uses wheat grass as their ingredient because there could be a possibility of contamination along with those two processes.
First, you should know that when the wheat grass is taken without any grains that already grow inside, then the plant will be gluten-free. However, when the grains have already grows then we could say that it does not gluten-free anymore. Moreover, when the wheat grass is taken with the same tools that used to take wheat that already contain grains, then it could get contamination which could make them not gluten-free anymore. Next, when the wheat grass is stored in the same warehouse which used to store wheat grains, then it could also contaminate the grass. Thus, it would not be gluten free.
Even when all the process in the farm has already maintained, so there is no contamination could happen, but the contamination could still happened on the factory. They might use the same machine that they use to produce other food that contains gluten, thus makes the wheat grass not gluten-free anymore. They could also use the same containers which used to contain food with gluten, then the contamination also occurs. The best thing when you want to eat wheat grass is to search for the gluten-free label to make sure that there is no contamination in it.