When you have celiac disease, you need to be very careful about anything you eat because you could not eat anything that contains gluten that becomes the source of the disease you have. That includes the bread that you might eat every morning because when you eat bread that contains gluten, then you would feel sick. That is why you need to use gluten free flour to make the bread. But when you want to bake something, you surely need to use baking powder according to the recipe. However, you need to know is baking powder gluten free?
Is Baking Powder Gluten Free? Does Baking Powder Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Baking Powder That Does Not Contain Gluten
You should know that the baking powder you need for your baking is made from baking soda that mixed with cream of tartar which is a bi-product from the production of wine then added with some starch to absorb the moisture. The last ingredient is where the problems come from; you should know that there are many kinds of starch used to make the baking powder. Some of the starch is gluten-free, but some contain gluten, this is why you should be careful when choosing the baking powder you use because some baking powder is gluten-free, but there are some that are not gluten-free. The kind of starch that is gluten-free is made from corn or potato. However, there is also starch that is made from wheat which surely not gluten-free.
When you want to choose a baking powder that is gluten-free, then you should make sure the ingredient that they use are gluten-free. The best thing that you could do is to find a gluten-free label on the package. However, when you want to be sure, you should also see the ingredient list on the package. When the list only writes starch as the ingredient without specifying which starch they use, then you should be suspicious about it because it could use wheat starch, but the most common starch used is usually made from corn.
Using your own gluten-free baking powder at home
When you want to be sure about the baking powder you use, then it would be better if you make your own baking powder. That way you could control what is inside the baking powder so there would not be any ingredient that contains gluten. We will give to you some recipe to make your own gluten-free baking powder.
For the ingredient, you should prepare the main ingredient such as one tablespoon of baking soda and then you should add two tablespoons of cream of tartar. To make it you just need to mix the two ingredients together, and after it all had been mixed, then you could use it right away. However when you want to store it, then you need to add one tablespoon of gluten-free starch which made from corn or potato. This starch is used to absorb the moisture from the baking powder so it would last longer. However, it would be better when you only make it when you need it.