If you have celiac disease, then you should avoid from eating many things because you need to do a gluten-free diet which does not involve any gluten food inside. However this becomes harder when you do not know what you supposed to eat or whether the food you eat is free from gluten, even an ordinary thing like cornbread should always be careful because you never know is cornbread gluten-free or not. Because when it is not then you will get sick from all celiac disease symptoms that you do not expect to happen.
Is Cornbread Gluten Free? Does Cornbread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
What is inside the Cornbread?
To know whether the cornbread is gluten-free or not, of course, you should know what is inside the cornbread. There are actually many kinds of things that could be combined into your cornbread that is why you should watch out for it yourself. But what we want to talk about is the main ingredient that creates the cornbread itself. Like the name, this quick bread is made from cornmeal as the main ingredient then combines with another ingredient that would make the bread feels more delicious. However, there is another important that needed by the cornbread to cooked perfectly which is baking powder.
You should know that the baking powder is made from combination cream of tartar with some starch. And this starch is mainly made from wheat starch which contains gluten. And this is the one main source of gluten that should be available inside the cornbread which could make it contain gluten. And because of it, we could say that cornbread is not gluten-free.
Making the cornbread becomes gluten free
You could actually make your own cornbread so you could make sure that it only contains an ingredient that is gluten-free, thus makes the cornbread also gluten-free. For once you should always pay attention to the combination of ingredient that mixed into the cornbread to make it taste better since you need to make sure that you do not put anything that contains gluten inside. Then another main thing that you need to do is to make sure that you only use gluten-free baking powder. Actually there are many kinds of gluten-free baking powder that you could find on the market. What you need to do is to search for gluten-free label on the package of your baking powder. And once you could find it, then you could bake your own gluten free cornbread according to the recipe that you want to try.
You should also make sure that you only use gluten-free cornmeal for your cornbread. Of course the cornmeal is considered as a gluten-free ingredient; however, there are still ways that could make it become not gluten-free anymore through contamination. So you would need to only purchase your cornmeal from any manufacturer that could make sure there is no cross contamination that could get to your cornmeal, which could make all your effort to make your cornbread becomes gluten-free will be wasted.