Celiac disease people are very sensitive to gluten. What is gluten? Gluten is one variation of protein which can cause health problem for those who suffer from gluten sensitivity or known as celiac disease. There is no medicine to cure celiac disease people because the moment they eat foods which contain gluten, their body will react from allergy and they will suffer various symptoms such as fatigue, vomit, diarrhea, and anemia. Therefore, the best option is to stay away from gluten foods by doing the gluten-free diet.
Gluten disease people always struggle to find dishes that they can eat which do not contain gluten. For example, when your favorite food is couscous? Then, is couscous gluten free? Couscous looks like rice but also looks like pasta. It has great taste and perfect for a side dish with other meal. That is why people like to eat it. Beside, couscous is low calorie and contains nutrition plus quick to make you full. Unfortunately, couscous contains gluten, so it is not good for gluten sensitive people. They need to avoid couscous for their own good.
Is Couscous Gluten Free? Does Couscous Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Couscous is made from wheat, and all foods made from wheat are contained gluten. If gluten intolerance people eat this food, then they will suffer health problem. But, do not worry because they are some solution for you who like to eat couscous. These foods maybe have different taste, but they can be your couscous replacement or alternative.
Hot Cereal as Couscous Alternative
If you craving for couscous but you suffer from celiac disease then you can replace it with hot cereal. Hot cereal from Bob’s Red Mill Mighty Tasty Gluten Free Hot Cereal is safe to eat for gluten sensitivity people. You also can make delicious food from this hot cereal whether it is savory or sweet.
What you need to do is to mix the hot cereal with other ingredients such as honey, cinnamon, and gluten-free syrup like pure maple. You can also add apple chunks and stevia. To make the dish what you need to do is cook the hot cereal and add all the ingredients on top of it. You can use other fruits besides apple.
Brown Rice as Couscous Alternative
Brown rice is good as couscous alternative because is healthier than white rice, easy to find, and almost have the same texture just like couscous. You can cook brown rice with other gluten-free ingredients to make a delicious dish, or you can eat it on its own. But you need to be careful not to purchase brown rice which contaminated with gluten foods or ingredients. For example, avoid purchasing brown rice packages which stored with wheat flour packages.
Couscous Gluten-Free Brands
Besides two alternatives which we mentioned before, there is couscous brand which does not contain gluten because they are made from gluten-free ingredient such as Lundberg Family Farms which made two flavors of couscous. Another couscous brands available such as Goldbaum, and Wholesome Kitchen. Couscous from Goldbaum made from the gluten-free facility while Wholesome Kitchen made with three different taste of couscous. Surely, these entire couscous brands have a delicious taste.