If you want to treat your children when they did something great, you could get jello for their snack since this food is really tasty and the kids would surely love it. However when you have children with celiac disease or when you yourself have this disease, then you should be worried about anything you eat because they should not contain any form gluten at all. Asking is jello gluten free or not is a normal thing especially when you do not know what jello is made of. More information could help you to answer this question yourself.
Is Jello Gluten Free? Does Jello Have Gluten In It Or Not?
What Is Inside The Jello So It Could Gluten Free
You should know that the main ingredient for jello is gelatin that mixed with other ingredients such as flavoring agent, sweetener, and food coloring agent. The gelatin itself is a form of protein, but wait does that mean gelatin contain gluten protein? The answer is no because the gelatin is taken from the collagen extracted from an animal such as pig, fish, and cow from parts of their bones and skin. When you see from this main ingredient, then you could say that jello is gluten-free.
How To Make Gluten Free Jello?
To make sure that the jello you consume is gluten-free, then you could try to create your own jello using their natural ingredient instead of just purchasing it on the store. That way you could feel free to choose gluten-free flavoring and a gluten-free coloring agent to be used on your jello. What you need to do is to dissolve the flavoring agent, coloring agent and of course sugar to make it even better on a pan of water. Then put the pan on the stove to boil and put out the fire, next you need to put the liquid in the bowl you use to shape the jello before you put in the gelatin. Let them cool down to room temperature or put it in the refrigerator to freeze it.
What Makes Jello Not Gluten Free Anymore?
However, you should still need to be very careful when you purchase jello since there would be a time when the jello will contain gluten. You already know that when they made the jello, they will mix gelatin with water and flavoring agent together with food coloring agent. That other thing that mixed into the gelatin that gluten-free might contains gluten so you need to be very careful when you choose the flavor so it would not be made from anything that contains gluten.
There are many things that you could use jello in, for example, you could use jello in drinks to make jello shots. This might not be a normal thing for children so your kids would be safe from it. But for an adult that do this, they should be very careful when choosing the kind of alcohol to use with the shots because they could contain gluten which will contaminate the jello so it would not gluten-free anymore.