Mayonnaise is the main food ingredients when you prepare fresh salad or sandwich. But for celiac disease people, they need to be careful because of gluten sensitivity. If the mayonnaise contains gluten, it should be avoided by those who suffer celiac. So, is mayonnaise gluten free? We can be sure to answer this question since some mayonnaise brands can contain gluten ingredients and some are gluten-free. That is why you need to be careful.
Is Mayonnaise Gluten Free? Does Mayonnaise Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How can I differentiate mayonnaise which contain gluten and which are not? The only way is to check the label on mayonnaise packages. Make sure that the ingredients to make mayonnaise do not contain any grains like wheat. Check all the stabilizing agents, flavors ingredients, thickeners, distilled vinegar, and many more. To make sure that the mayonnaise you purchase is gluten-free, it is better to buy only those who have label gluten-free. Moreover, you may want to avoid mayonnaise which contains vinegar derived from grains.
Prepare Homemade Mayonnaise to Avoid Gluten
Since you can be sure that the mayonnaise offered in the store is gluten free, you can make your own mayonnaise at the kitchen. It is great if you can make your own mayonnaise since celiac disease people also need to be careful with gluten cross-contamination. When you want to make, mayonnaise makes sure that you give gluten-free label so the people at your home who do not have the same diet program can avoid contaminating it.
To make your mayonnaise, use egg yolk and then mix it with mustard seeds, crushed garlic, and white wine vinegar. Mix them together in a large bowl while adding some olive oil. Another recipe is to mix egg yolk, Dijon mustard, and lemon juice with coconut or olive using a food processor. To give some flavors, you can add spices such as curry powder. After you did prepare the mayonnaise, keep it inside the closed container and put it in the refrigerator. This will make the mayonnaise fresh and last longer at least for two weeks.
Gluten Cross Contamination in Mayonnaise
Mayonnaise is the subject of cross contamination especially if you live in a family which does not have the same gluten-free diet program. For example, maybe some of your family uses a knife to take the mayonnaise and then spread it on wheat bread. After that, they dip the knife back to the mayonnaise container for more. If this often happens in your home, you need to prepare two containers and then label one of them with gluten-free. Anyway, this also can happen in a restaurant. Therefore you need to be careful when eating a meal at outside.
Mayonnaise is delicious and tasty for your sandwiches, but it also contains high cholesterol. You can pick other alternatives to replace the mayonnaise such as mashed avocado, and mustard. The best way to substitute the mayonnaise is to use soy-based vegan mayonnaise since it is one hundred percent free from gluten. Greek yogurt is also better option than mayonnaise. All these mayonnaise alternatives have a great taste for your sandwiches or other dishes.