For you who love to eat Italian food, you surely love to eat risotto. But for you who have celiac disease, then you should be very careful about what you eat in the Italian restaurant. Then is risotto gluten free? Risotto is made from rising and broth so it would have a creamy taste. They choose medium or short grain white rice to make the dish because this type of rice could absorb the broth. There are many kinds of rice that used to make this dish such as Arborio, carnaroli, and vialone nano are the most common rice used. For the broth, they use meat, vegetable and even fist to make the rice more delicious.
Is Risotto gluten free? Does Risotto have gluten in it or not?
The Fact About Risotto and It’s Gluten Free Actually
When you see the ingredient that we mention above, you could easily say that it is gluten-free. The reason is that the kind of rice that they used to make the dish is different kind of grain that contains gluten so it would not contain gluten at all. The same could be said for the vegetable since most vegetable in their natural form would not contain any gluten. However, you need to pay attention to the added ingredient since that is where the gluten usually comes from. Sometimes the restaurant would also add wine to the risotto when their recipe says so, for most people they would not feel any effect from in because wine only contains less than 20 parts per million, however for the extra sensitive person they might feel sick after consuming certain wine. That is why when you do not know which wine the restaurant use, it would be better for you to eat one that does not contain wine. Or you might want to ask them to use wine that suitable for you.
Gluten contamination in risotto
Another thing that you should know is that the risotto might get contaminated by gluten food in the making process of the dish inside the Italian restaurant kitchen. If that restaurant you go does not really pay attention to the gluten-free food, they might have used the same pans or plates that they used to cook and serve gluten food. That is why there might still be a small trace of gluten inside the cookware and dishware they used. So you need to ask to the chef whether they use dedicated cookware and dishware for gluten-free food. If not, then it would be better when you do not dine in that restaurant.
But even if they already use dedicated cookware and dishware, there are still ways that the gluten could contaminate the risotto. First, they might use the same storage for the rice and other food which contain gluten, even worse if they placed it side by side or on the same rack of food. Even in its raw form, they could already be contaminated by wheat flour that easily fly away just by a small blow from the air conditioner or when they more it.
You should also pay attention to how they serve your risotto. Since the Italian restaurant is busy especially in the dinner time, they might just place every dish on one table before being delivered to the customer. When your gluten-free risotto is placed beside another dish that contains gluten, then the gluten might be able to touch the risotto, thus makes it not gluten-free anymore. This is why everything needs to be observed carefully when you dine outside at a restaurant. Perhaps the best way for you to get the real gluten-free risotto is by cooking it yourself.