We will never get enough if we discuss about celiac disease. What is celiac disease? It means that your body allergic to some protein in grains such as barley, wheat, and rye. These three main grains are the sources of gluten, and the gluten is the protein type that we already mentioned before. Unfortunately, there is no cure for celiac disease people. The only way to treat celiac disease is to maintain a gluten-free diet program. A gluten-free diet is done by avoids foods which made from the three main grains which we already mentioned before or any ingredients derived from those grains.
Is Rye Bread Gluten Free? Does Rye Bread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
One question for bread lover who maybe suffers from celiac disease or gluten intolerance is whether the bread they eat contain gluten. There are several pieces of bread that contain no gluten but there also some bread that contains gluten. How about rye bread? Is rye bread gluten free? Rye bread definitely contains gluten since it made from rye, one of the three main grains that produce gluten protein.
Information about Rye Bread
Rye bread is made from rye flour and may have a dark colour or lighter colour. The colors the bread have depend on the what kind of rye flour is used and also the extra colour agents contained in the dough. Usually, the breads made from rye flour is denser compared with the breads made from wheat flour. It also has a stronger flavour that breads made from wheat flour or white breads plus higher fibre which is good for the body. Besides that fact, there still a lot of rye bread benefits which you can get if you do not suffer from celiac disease.
Rye bread contains gluten, and that is why you need to avoid it if you suffer celiac disease. But, there is also some case that gluten sensitive people can eat rye bread and only suffer from the milder reaction which they can still take. Why? Maybe it is because they have a lower gluten sensitivity, so the body has less reaction with gluten.
Most of products and foods in the market which labelled with gluten free only tested with 20 ppm gluten level, but still they are considered as gluten-free. If you have high gluten sensitivity level, then it is better if you do not eat those products that only tested by 20 ppm. You should try to find other products or brands that tested by 10 ppm gluten and do not worry because there is a lot of product labelled with gluten free and already checked by 10 pm. Therefore, always check the label and ingredients used when you want to consume your bread.
Anyway, there is a lot of rye bread alternatives which you can eat, and they also have delicious taste such as cornbread, and potato bread. You can prepare your dishes with these bread, and they are a lot of food gluten-free recipes which you can follow used corn and potato bread. Always be creative when dealing with your gluten-free diet menu and enjoy your meal!