When you have celiac disease, you need to have a habit of checking the ingredient that available inside the food you want to eat. It is one thing that you should always do to make sure that there is no hidden ingredient that contains gluten available inside the food or other side food that you might eat. One side food that you always add to other dish is sour cream. However, you still need to make sure is sour cream gluten-free or not. When your gluten-free food is added with something that is not gluten-free, then it would contaminate the food to be not gluten-free anymore.
Is Sour Cream Gluten Free? Does Sour Cream Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Sour Cream
This side food is made using cream which obtained from the milk then added with certain bacteria that will make the cream becomes sour and eventually thicken the form of the cream. When we see this pure ingredient of sour cream, then we could say that this cream is indeed gluten-free. However, we could not stop only there because sour cream has many kinds of variation that we need to think of.
The first version that you should pay attention is the light sour cream. This cream contains less fat because it is made from cream and milk. However, because it does not contains enough fat, so the form would not thicken that much. This is why they would add a thickening agent to the cream so it could form the right thickness for the sour cream. The second version is the fat-free sour cream which does not contain any cream at all since it is mainly made from non-fat milk with a thickening agent.
Inside those varieties of sour cream one thing that you should concern about is the thickening agent because they often use starch as the thickening agent. And as you know, some starch contains gluten because it is often made from wheat starch. However, manufacturer in America usually uses corn starch for the ingredient because wheat starch is more popular in a European country.
How to make sure that sour cream is gluten-free
The main thing that you should do is to check whether they have a gluten-free label on the package of the sour cream, or you could also try to ask the manufacturer through their customer service. You could also try to see the starch ingredient that they use for their product, and most importantly to avoid any sour cream which is imported from Europe because of they are more likely to use wheat starch.
Even when the product is made inside the US, you should also be careful about the cross-contamination that might happen during the manufacturing process. Usually, pure sour cream is not subject to contamination. However, when you use a flavoured version of sour cream, it might have more change in cross contamination than the other version. Usually, the manufacturer would also call out for this cross contamination problem on their packaging. This is another reason why you should always check everything you purchase.