Gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity need to avoid grains such as barley, rye, and wheat since they are the three main grains that contain gluten. If the foods, meals, dishes, or ingredients made and derived from these grains, then do not consume it. Unfortunately, there is a lot of gluten ingredients in the market, and that is why you need to know how to differentiate the gluten ingredients and gluten-free ingredients.
Is Soy Lecithin Gluten Free? Does Soy Lecithin Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How about soy lecithin? Is soy lecithin gluten free? We can assure you that soy or soya is gluten-free, and so does soy lecithin. Soy lecithin derived from soy and soy itself does not include or made from gluten grains which we already mentioned above. Therefore, you can be safe to consume gluten-free products that have soy lecithin in the label.
There is some case from celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity that consumes soy lecithin, but they suddenly have unhealthy symptoms due to the soy lecithin. Why is that so? It may because they do not check the label or maybe they do not purchase soy lecithin products with a gluten-free label. Even though soy lecithin is gluten free but sometimes the company that produces it often add extra gluten additives to change the soy. If that the case, then the gluten-free soy lecithin will contaminate. You need to check the label before you purchase it and it is better to buy a product with a gluten-free label only. It may confuse you, but it is better for your own safety.
The other causes are maybe the result of soy allergy. According to U.S.Code 321, soy is one of the eight allergens, and sometimes people who suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity can also allergy with other ingredients which include soy. Therefore, if you want to serve your celiac disease friend, ask her first whether she has another allergic issue even though you already purchased gluten-free soy lecithin product.
So, who need to avoid soy lecithin? First, people who have soy allergic need to avoid soy lecithin. Second, people who also have some allergy with oils since soy lecithin are derived from soy oil. If you do not know, the soy oil processed with hexane, and then it turns into this soy lecithin. Last but not least, people who concern with Genetically Modified Organisms food or GMO.
Information about Lecithin
Lecithin is derived not only from soya but also other ingredients, including gluten grains. That is why since soy lecithin is gluten-free, it does not mean all the lecithin also contain no gluten. You need to watch out and check the label first. But, do not worry because most lecithins made from soy and it is very popular.
Lecithin is usually used for release agent for baked foods. Moreover, it is also useful as an emulsifier, dispersing help and stabilizer. Lecithin often used for final products less than one per cent and they have only used it in a small amount. Anyway, soy lecithin also has nutrition that good for your body. Therefore, there is a soy lecithin supplement which you can find in the market.