You might know soy sauce from the Asian cuisine that often used it as their main ingredient. That is why you should know is soy sauce gluten free or not before you dine in any Asian restaurant. For your shocking information, soy sauce is not gluten-free; the reason is that in most soy sauce, it uses wheat as a part of their main ingredient. This is why you should be careful when you order any Asian food to ask whether they use soy sauce inside their ingredient or not because for someone who has celiac disease it would be very dangerous for you.
Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free? Does Soy Sauce Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Free gluten version of Soy Sauce
However, you should not have to worry because there is a way that used to make soy sauce so it would not have to use wheat as its main ingredient. When made by using this method, and then the soy sauce would be free from gluten so you could easily consume it. The type of soy sauce make using this method is called tamari, and for your convenience, there is more and more product of soy sauce made in this method. For you who want to be still able to use soy sauce in their cooking ingredient, we will give to you some brand that makes a gluten-free version of tamari soy sauce.
- San-J Soy Sauce: this brand creates some of their soy sauce in tamari type so you could search for the gluten-free product from this brand. Besides the original taste, they also create the organic and low sodium version of the soy sauce so you would have even more selection to choose from. They are sold in bottled or in a small individual package that you could easily carry everywhere you need. The best thing about this soy sauce is that they have less than 5 parts per million gluten-free standards.
- Kikkoman Soy Sauce: this brand creates their soy sauce only with soy, water, salt and rice so it would be gluten-free. They also have tested their product for 20 parts per million standards so they could acquire the gluten-free label that you just need to find when you want to purchase this product. This brand is relatively easy to find in a supermarket, just remember that they also have the other version of tamari soy sauce which is not gluten-free, which is why it is important to search for the label.
- Eden Organic Soy Sauce: this brand has two kinds of gluten-free tamari soy sauce, which originated from the US and one that imported from Japan. They create their soy sauce using water, grain alcohol, koji, and sea salt. But you should not have to worry because they only use corn as the grain alcohol ingredient for a product that originally from the US while the one imported from Japan use rice as their grain alcohol ingredient; both ingredient is gluten-free so it would be save for you to consume.
- Kari Out Soy Sauce: this brand is actually specified in creating carry out items so they would only sell their product in a small package, but you could still purchase 400 small bags in bulk for a lower price. Since the owner of this manufacturer also has celiac disease, they decide to create the gluten-free and lower sodium version for their soy sauce. You could purchase their product easily from many online resellers, or you could also find it in some Chinese restaurant that you dine in by asking for this specific brand so you would be safe when you eat one.