There are many kinds of ingredient that you could find on your kitchen, that is why when you want to make your kitchen gluten-free because you are suffering from celiac disease, and then you should know whether the ingredient inside your kitchen is gluten-free or not. For example, is Spelt Flour gluten free because this kind of flour is often used on the kitchen to bake many kinds of food.
Is Spelt Flour Gluten Free? Does Spelt Flour Have Gluten In It Or Not?
To know whether a food is gluten free or not, then you should know what they really are. For Spelt Flour, it is of course made from the spelt grain which is also a type of ancient wheat. However, this type of wheat flour is used by more and more people because they think that this flour contains more nutrients compared to the original flour made from wheat grain. That is also the reason why you could often find this ingredient in many stores that sold healthy product and food. From that explanation, we could clearly say that Spelt Flour is not gluten-free because it is also made from a type of wheat grain.
How to avoid Spelt Flour for gluten-free diet?
That is why whenever you want to eat anything, especially baked things, then you need to be able to avoid from consuming Spelt Flour. Especially we as a person with celiac disease that always go to the healthy store because we think that we could avoid many types of gluten in those stores. Meaning from now on we should always make sure that any product we purchase even from the health show could contain gluten.
Most people with celiac disease will avoid purchasing any baked product since most likely it will contain gluten from the wheat flour. However, even if they said that they do not use wheat flour does not mean you would be safe from the wheat because they might use this Spelt Flour as a substitute for the wheat flour which could make the bread to be healthier.
Another used of Spelt Flour is as a thickening agent for gravy and any sauce. This is why when you go to the restaurant to order something, you should always ask what kind of flour they use to thicken the gravy and sauce. And if they said that they do not use wheat flour, they might use this Spelt Flour, so you need to be very careful from it.
Last but not least, Spelt Flour is also used to create pasta because they could make the pasta to contain more nutrients and be healthier. This is why you need to ask if the healthy pasta you eat on your Italian restaurant has also contains Spelt Flour or not. Trying to avoid gluten inside your food would only be possible when you know the kind of ingredient you are looking for. This is why you need to know which ingredient that contains gluten and which one is not. When you do not know anything about one ingredient it would be better to avoid it.