Celiac disease people should always avoid gluten food because those foods would be able to make them sick. So people with celiac disease would be more cautious with everything they eat because they do not want to have any gluten in their food. Even a little trace of gluten would be able to make you sick, so you should know it is spelt gluten free?
Is Spelt Gluten Free? Does Spelt Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Spelt itself is actually a type of grain wheat that has been consumed since the ancient medieval times. They are mostly are known in Europe because they are considered as the healthy alternative of grain that would be better to eat than the regular wheat. Because of that information, we could say that spelt is not gluten-free so you who have celiac disease should avoid it from getting to your food. You should be very grateful because food that contains spelt would not be labelled as wheat free so you could recognize the gluten material inside even though you do not know this ingredient.
The use of spelt for cooking
Usually this spelt is made into flour to be used to cook many kinds of food. You could always find them in many kinds of bread that you find on the market because it could be used to substitute the whole grain wheat and even regular wheat used to bake anything. That is why when you want to purchase any bread, and then you need to make sure what kind of flour they use inside the bread. Even if they do not use any wheat flour, you still need to ask them what kind of flour they use because they might use Spelt since this type of flour has more nutrition than wheat.
For foods with gravy, you should also be very careful because usually, they use wheat flour to thicken the gravy. Sometimes they would not use wheat, but they might use spelt to thicken their gravy, which is why you should ask what kind of thickening agent they use. As an alternative, you could actually use corn, potato or even tapioca flour to thicken your gravy, and all of those flours are gluten-free so you could safely consume it. When you go to an Italian food, you surely love to eat pasta. However, you should know that even if they do not use any wheat inside their pasta, they might also use spelt to create the pasta. The reason is that the spelt will give more nutrients to the pasta, thus make the pasta feel better.
Even if you had avoided all of that food, you should be very careful when choosing your food from any health food store because spelt is also consider an as healthy alternative for wheat so most health food store would use this spelt as their main ingredient to substitutes the wheat. That is why when you search for wheat-free food on the health food store, you should always search for the gluten-free label to make sure they really use gluten-free alternative to substitutes the wheat.