Many people still consuming sugar, especially gluten, intolerance people. Do they always want to know whether eating sugar is safe for them? Celiac disease, people who have a problem with gluten foods, need to avoid consume grains since it is the main sources of gluten. They need to do a gluten-free diet. How about sugar? Is sugar gluten free? Since sugar does not derived from grains like barley, wheat, and rye, then sugar is gluten-free. Sugar is made from sugar cane and although this sugar cane has a form of the grass plant and related with grains, but it does not contain gluten protein. That is why; you who follow a gluten-free diet program can enjoy pure sugar made from sugar cane.
Is Sugar Gluten Free? Does Sugar Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Cross Contamination that might Happen in Sugar
Even though sugar is gluten free, you still need to be careful, especially if you have high gluten insensitivity since there is a problem if the sugar gets cross-contamination. If the sugar being subject to gluten cross-contamination, you need to avoid it. But how do you know whether the sugar gets cross-contamination or not? Most of the gluten cross-contamination can happen in the kitchen or in grocery stores.
You should be careful when you have a shared the kitchen at home. Sugar can be contaminated by the appliances you use or the way you store the sugar. If you have shared kitchen, then it is possible that you use the appliances which already been used to prepare gluten ingredients or foods for your sugar. For example, maybe you prepare sugar in a cup, and unfortunately, the cup has been used to measure wheat. So the sugar will be cross contamination with gluten. Moreover, maybe accidentally you use spoon which already cross contaminated by gluten to take the sugar. That is why you need to tell your family about this problem and label all of your gluten free products.
Gluten cross-contamination can also happen in grocery stores. For example, if the stores put the sugar and wheat flour side by side on the same shelves. It often happens especially in a small store, and when the flour placed next to sugar, then it is possible that the flour may stick in the sugar package. Therefore, it is better for you to purchase sugar in large stores since larger store usually put the sugar and flour in different shelves. It seems paranoid, but this case ever happens with some celiac disease people.
Gluten Free Sugar Brands
There are some organic sugar brands which you can purchase and they are gluten-free such as:
- Sugar from Trader Joe brand: they have several lists of gluten-free sugar.
- Sugar from Wholesome Sweeteners brand: The Company states that the sugar they produce is gluten free plus manufactured in clean and gluten free environment.
- Sugar from Sugar in the Raw brand: The Company states that their sugar products made in clean and gluten free environment. Moreover, they also said the products do not touch with any gluten ingredients.
These brands perfect for you who suffer from celiac disease and you can enjoy your gluten-free diet.