Celiac disease people need to avoid gluten food since their body cannot tolerate gluten protein. What is gluten? Gluten is a protein that we can find in grains such as barley, rye, and wheat. When those who suffer from celiac disease consume foods or meals that contain gluten or eat ingredients that derived from gluten, then their body will react in some unhealthy symptoms.
Is Tapioca Gluten Free? Does Tapioca Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Sometimes people do not become aware that their body is gluten sensitivity until they check their body at hospital or doctor. When you suffer from gluten intolerance, then the symptoms that always occur such as vomit, migraine, headache, anaemia, and so on, these symptoms usually will be mistaken by people as usual diseases.
Unfortunately, there is no cure for celiac disease. The only way to keep gluten from your body is to do a gluten-free diet program. You need to eat only meals that free from gluten, and this is what makes people often struggle when they cannot find any foods that contain no gluten.
Gluten Free and Tapioca Information for Celiac Disease
How about tapioca? Is tapioca gluten free? Good news for you who suffer from gluten sensitivity that pure tapioca is gluten-free. That is why you can enjoy eating meals or dish made from tapioca such as tapioca flour or tapioca starch.
What is tapioca flour or tapioca starch? Tapioca starch or flour is white flour that has a bit sweet taste. If you cannot eat bread baked from wheat flour, then use tapioca flour or starch as an alternative for gluten-free flour. This tapioca flour is very popular among celiac disease peoples for the baking ingredient. The flour is derived from cassava plant from South America and not made from any grains that become the sources of gluten such as barley, rye, or wheat. When the plants are ready to be harvested, the farmer will take the roots and process them to remove any toxins. The process will be repeated between pulping and washing until the starch extracted from the roots. There is no gluten involved in these processes, and therefore, you can enjoy your food made from pure and white tapioca flour.
The Good Benefits from Tapioca Flour
Tapioca which derived from cassava plants besides free from gluten also good to improve texture in your baked bread. This flour will make the bread more chewy and crunchy. Moreover, since tapioca has a smooth form, it can act as thickeners for your sauce and soups. It has no smell or any weird taste for your dishes. You can also use it with other gluten-free ingredients.
Cross-Contamination in Tapioca
Tapioca flour can be a subject of cross contamination. That is why you need to store tapioca packages in a different place from any gluten ingredients. Cross-contamination can happen when you put the tapioca side by side with wheat flour since the wheat may stick into tapioca packages. Moreover, pay attention to the appliances you use to prepare the tapioca flour. Make sure that you do not use appliances that already touched with any gluten ingredients.