If you want to find a food that does not contain gluten, then you need to make some list about gluten-free diet ingredients and products. We all know that celiac disease people need to avoid gluten because their body cannot endure gluten protein from grains such as rye, wheat, and barley. If they insist on consuming food that contains gluten, they will suffer from various symptoms such as nausea or want to vomit, anaemia, migraine, headache, and many more. The bad news is there is no cure for celiac disease and the only way to keep your body healthy is to do a gluten-free diet program. With a gluten-free diet program, you need to prepare it carefully by always watch out for foods containing gluten.
Is Vanilla Extract Gluten Free? Does Vanilla Extract Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How about vanilla? Is vanilla extract gluten-free? Can people who suffer from celiac disease eat meals or foods with vanilla extract? To answer those questions first, you need to know which vanilla extract come from, and so you can make your own conclusion from it. Vanilla made from dried vanilla pods or fruits, and the fruit itself comes from a flower and not grains such as wheat, rye, or barley. From that information, we can say sure that vanilla extract are gluten-free. Moreover, not a usual flower but vanilla extracted from orchid, and it is good as extra ingredients when you want to prepare dishes or foods such as dessert or baked meals. Vanilla also used for perfume and cosmetic products.
The Benefits of Vanilla and its Extracts
Vanilla and its extract have a lot of benefit and usefulness. For example, they are used for food flavouring because they have nice aroma or smell. Not only that, but perfume from vanilla also useful to enhance the mood and energize the day. Even there is some expert said that vanilla also used as an aphrodisiac.
Nowadays, vanilla mostly used as vanilla extract. The vanilla extract itself contains vanilla beans, water, and alcohol. If you do not like alcohol and prefer vanilla flavouring with natural and pure ingredients, then you can tell by the alcohol level. Pure vanilla flavouring contains little alcohol by two or three percent and there also vanilla flavouring that contains no alcohol at all and only contains with vanilla fruit beans and water. If you suffer from celiac disease, it is better to avoid vanilla, which contains alcohol since we know that most alcohol derived from grains such as wheat. Therefore, you need to purchase gluten-free vanilla. Always try to check the label whether the vanilla extract contains gluten alcohol or not.
Vanillin VS Vanilla
Be careful with vanillin if you want to make some dessert. Vanillin is not real vanilla and it made from chemical ingredients which processed to smell like vanilla extract. That is why when you want to add vanilla in your baked foods; you should can differentiate between vanillin and real or pure vanilla extract. Anyway, as extra information, if you want to bake your bread use vanilla extract in the exact amount like the recipes mention since vanilla has strong flavour and smell, so too little or too much vanilla extract will have really big different taste.