Sometimes you would find things that contain wheat grass on the food that you want to purchase. But as someone who has celiac disease that should always avoid many kinds of things which contain gluten, you should be shocking when you read wheat on the package of the food. The first thing you may have when you read is that the food contains gluten. But how is this grass behind the wheat words affect the gluten, and then is wheat grass gluten-free or not? You should know more information about this plant yourself.
Is Wheat Grass Gluten Free? Does Wheat Grass Have Gluten In It Or Not?
About Wheat Grass
From the wheat plant, you could actually take two things which are the wheat grain that contains gluten protein inside the seed, and the wheat grass itself. When you see that grass does not contain any grains, then you could say it is pure so it would not contain gluten since the gluten is only available inside the grains. This is why we could say that wheat grass is gluten free. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration even said that any food which contains wheat grass inside the ingredient could still use the gluten-free label as long as their finished product still be able to pass the 20 parts per million standards. That is why eating food that contains wheat grass would be fine for you.
Wheat Grass and Gluten
Even if you already know that wheat grass does not contain gluten, however, there are still some ways that the wheat grass could contain gluten. To know more about this we should pay more attention on how the wheat grass produces and the manufacturing process of the food that uses wheat grass as their ingredient because there could be a possibility of contamination along with those two processes.
First, you should know that when the wheat grass is taken without any grains that already grow inside, then the plant will be gluten-free. However, when the grains have already grows then we could say that it does not gluten-free anymore. Moreover, when the wheat grass is taken with the same tools that used to take wheat that already contain grains, then it could get contamination which could make them not gluten-free anymore. Next, when the wheat grass is stored in the same warehouse which used to store wheat grains, then it could also contaminate the grass. Thus, it would not be gluten free.
Even when all the process in the farm has already maintained, so there is no contamination could happen, but the contamination could still happened on the factory. They might use the same machine that they use to produce other food that contains gluten, thus makes the wheat grass not gluten-free anymore. They could also use the same containers which used to contain food with gluten, then the contamination also occurs. The best thing when you want to eat wheat grass is to search for the gluten-free label to make sure that there is no contamination in it.