People with celiac disease are suffering from gluten protein which available in certain kinds of grains such as Whey, rye, or barley. This is why they need to avoid foods which contain gluten in their ingredient. They would also need to be cautious about all the foods that they eat to make sure that they do not eat anything they are not supposed to.
Is Whey Gluten Free? Does Whey Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Then what about Whey? Is whey gluten free? Whey is a type of protein available in milk. It gained from the leftover liquid is taken from the making of curds. Because of this non grain ingredient and obviously different type of protein, then we could say that whey is gluten free.
Whey Allergic and Gluten
But how about you who feel sick after you consume whey powder? You should know that when someone having celiac disease, there are some parts on their intestine that does not function in the right way. Usually, the cell that needed to creates lactase used to break the lactose could not perform their function, thus making them allergic to lactose. This is why people could suffer both celiac disease and lactose intolerant together; that is why you could still feel sick when consuming whey. Even though whey is not lactose but because it is coming from milk, the person who lactose intolerant should avoid whey for precaution. However, this would only occur to someone who highly sensitive to lactose, so when you are not that sensitive, then you still consume whey easily.
The use of whey protein to our body
Since we could not consume Whey when we have celiac disease because of the gluten protein, then we need to search other protein that could fulfil the same role as the Whey protein. That is why some people with celiac disease choose whey to replace their protein source. This protein contains amino acids which really great protein since your body could easily digest and absorb it; thus, you will get a lot of energy from it. Moreover, the whey protein powder could also be mixed with other food that you take in your gluten-free diet. It would be able to add more texture on your cooked ingredient; this is why the whey could also be used on your recipe to replace other powder or flour,
This is why it is highly recommended for you to consume pure whey to gain the protein benefits from it. However, you also need to be cautious because there could be a way that makes the gluten-free whey could contain gluten because of contamination. For example, when the manufacturer uses the same machine to pack whey powder product and flour, then there would be a possibility for the flour to mixing in the whey thus makes it contain gluten. This is why it is important for you to search whey which labelled with gluten free so it would be safer to consume because it means that they pay attention to the making and packing process so the whey would not be contaminated.