One task that people with celiac disease have to do is to make sure that they do not accidentally eat anything with gluten in it. This might be a daunting thing to do, especially when you do not know what you should look for. This is why you should always advance your knowledge of all ingredients that might be available in all kinds of food that you may eat. One thing that might be triggering for your curiosity is whey protein gluten-free or not. Since the word protein is used, and then you might become afraid that the protein is the same one as the gluten protein.
Is Whey Protein Gluten Free? Does Whey Protein Have Gluten In It Or Not?
More Information about whey protein ingredient
To know more about the kind of protein is available inside whey protein, you should know what this food is made from. The ingredient used in this whey protein is mainly milk because it is taken as a liquid from the leftover of cheese making. From this ingredient, we could be sure that the whey protein is a different kind of protein from what you always find on gluten. That is why we could also say that pure whey protein is gluten-free.
However, there is also some variety of whey protein that is not made only from milk since they also add some peptide bound glutamine which actually taken from the wheat protein. For this version of whey protein, then it would not be gluten-free anymore since there is already gluten inside it from the wheat protein. That is why when you want to purchase any whey protein, try to find the purest product that you could find that does not add with anything at all. And do not forget to check the packaging of it to search if there is a gluten-free label on the product, which means you would be safe when consuming it.
The danger of whey protein allergy
Even though the whey protein does not contain any gluten, however, it would still be dangerous for certain people. Some of you who have celiac disease may feel sick after you consume it; however, it is not because of you sick from gluten, but because you are experiencing some allergy from this whey protein. The allergy is caused by lactase available inside the whey protein; for some people with celiac disease, they often have bad intestine that makes them unable to break this lactase thus makes them feel sick whenever they eat it. For this kind of people, they would have both celiac disease and lactose allergy; this is why they should also avoid whey protein even though they do not contain any gluten.
Using whey protein for celiac disease people
However, for you who do not have any allergy to whey protein, then consuming whey protein would be very useful since this type of protein contains high nutrition. This is why people often used whey protein as a form of a substitute for the protein that they could not get from wheat. So it would actually very recommend for you to consume whey protein.