Celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity need to avoid any gluten foods and its derived. If they want to eat some dishes, they really need to be careful and think twice before swallow it. Not only foods which celiac disease people need to care, but there are also some drinks derived from grains which needed to be avoided since grains are the source of gluten.
Is Whiskey Gluten Free? Does Whiskey Have Gluten In It Or Not?
When you go out than attend some dinner party, maybe you will be served with whiskey. Is whiskey gluten free? We do not have an exact answer for this since it depends on whom you asked. There are two different opinions related to whiskey, whether it is gluten-free or not. Some people agree that whiskey is safe to be consumed by celiac disease people since the gluten level inside whiskey is still on the twenty parts per million standards. Whiskey is made from grains, that is barley and barley is one of the main gluten sources, including wheat, and rye. Even though whiskey is derived from barley since the level of gluten below the standard of twenty parts per million, some people conclude that whiskey is gluten-free. Especially because of distillation will remove the gluten protein. Therefore, celiac disease people can enjoy drinking whiskey or cocktail which made from distilled alcohol.
Unfortunately, there still other people who do not agree with this conclusion. For example, Celiac Sprue Association suggests that whiskey does not feel safe to be consumed with celiac disease people even though the level of gluten below the standard of twenty parts per million. They prefer to recommend gluten intolerance people to choose tequila, potato vodka, and rum, which made from gluten-free sources.
Is Whiskey Safe to be consumed by Gluten Intolerance People?
For those who have higher sensitivity of gluten, it is better to avoid whiskey or scotch because you may suffer several gluten reactions. But, there still other people who have celiac disease safe to consume whiskey or scotch since they do not have a higher level of gluten sensitivity. If you do not make sure whether you will get gluten reactions from these alcohols, then you may need to avoid it just to be safe.
Is Distillation Process on Whiskey will be Totally Removed the Gluten Protein?
We cannot be sure that the distillation process will 100 percent remove the gluten inside whiskey since it is possible after the distillation process; some part of gluten will come back. Moreover, some companies which produce whiskey may add caramel colouring. If that’s what happens, then the alcohol or whiskey will contain gluten once again.
Last but not least, so we suggest that if you want to try whiskey just go slowly. You may do not have any reaction or problems by drinking whiskey or scotch, but if you do, then you can pick unflavored rum instead or just go with potato vodka. Anyway, there is one brand that you can consume and surely it safe for celiac disease people named Queen Jennie Whiskey since it is gluten-free and does not make from any grains.