Rice is one of the main dishes people always eat, especially in Asia countries. But the question which keeps remaining in certain celiac disease people is whether rice contains gluten and safe to eat? There is a lot of rice types available such as brown rice, red rice, black rice, and white rice. Most people use white rice since it easy to find, cheaper, and of course, tasty. Is white rice gluten-free? The answer is “yes”. Not only white rice but most types of rice are gluten-free, and that is why you can enjoy eating rice even though you suffer from celiac disease which needed to avoid gluten.
Is White Rice Gluten Free? Does White Rice Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Be Careful: Contamination in White Rice
Plain white rice is gluten-free, and it is safe to be eaten. If the white rice contains gluten, then it is possible because the rice gets some contamination from gluten ingredients or foods. Contamination in white rice can occur during the preparation stage. For example, in some restaurant, the chef can prepare and cook the white rice with the same appliances to make gluten foods. If that is the case, then it is possible that white rice can be contaminated with gluten. Again, if the chef uses extra ingredients to make the white rice taste better, then you need to ask what ingredients the chef added since he or she may use gluten ingredients. Anyway, you should not be stressful after hearing what we mention above. You can always ask the chef to carefully prepare the white rice according to your taste.
Be Careful: Contamination of White Rice in Your Kitchen
Since not all restaurant pays their attention for celiac disease people or maybe you cannot always ask about the ingredients added to the white rice and then most gluten sensitivity people prefer to cook their rice on their own in the kitchen. Cook white rice in your own kitchen does not mean you can always free from gluten. If you prepare the dishes in the wrong ways, then you may accidentally do some cross-contamination in white rice. For example, if you use a bowl to make some dough with wheat flour then cleans it by wiping the leftover flour out. After that, you use the same bowl to prepare the white rice and veggies; it is possible that the white rice will contaminate by gluten.
If you store the white rice packages above or below wheat flour packages, the wheat flour may sneak into the white rice, and it will be contaminated with gluten. Therefore, make sure you never try to store the white rice side by side with the flour or even put it in the same shelf of wheat flour.
Be Careful: Contamination at Stores
The same case may happen in the stores when you purchase white rice. It is better for you to avoid buying white rice in bulk bins since you do not know how the store handle the rice. Moreover, be careful when the white rice stored in the same shelves with wheat flour, bread, or even dry grains since the rice may cross-contaminated with the grains and flour.