Does anyone know about wild rice? Is wild rice gluten-free? If you suffer from celiac disease, you should know whether wild rice which you eat contains gluten or not. Before we answer the question regarding wild rice, you should know for the first what is wild rice actually.
Is Wild Rice Gluten Free? Does Wild Rice Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Wild Rice
Since its name contains “rice” on it, you may imagine or think that wild rice is one type of rice such as brown rice or red rice or white rice, but actually it is not. Wild rice is not rice, and it is actually considered as grass or semi-aquatic grass that live in small lakes or small rivers. From it, you can harvest some grains. Wild rice also has another name such as water oats, Canada rice, and Indian rice.
Moreover, wild rice did not relate to any Asian rice that we usually see. Wild rice has a chewy form for the sheath while the inner is tenderer. It also has some vegetal taste. Many people like to mix wild rice with white rice because they almost have the same texture, but it tastier than white rice because it has a slight flavour.
Wild rice even though it almost has the same texture as white rice, but it has a dark colour. It also contains a lot of nutrition which good for the body and you can be creative by add and mix wild grains in any dishes, but usually, people like to mix it with white rice to create delicious wild rice mix.
Wild Rice and Gluten Free
Good news for you celiac disease people that wild rice considered to be gluten-free. Unfortunately, if you buy wild rice in the market, some brands are adding extra gluten ingredients in the wild rice. Extra wheat ingredient such as soy sauce usually added to the wild rice, so it has a more delicious taste. Therefore, you need to always check the label and the ingredient to make sure that the wild rice you buy is really free from gluten. Consider this might be happen then only plain wild rice is gluten free.
Wild Rice Brand that Considered to be Gluten Free
If you want to know whether there is wild rice brand considered to be gluten-free then yes it is. For example, you can buy wild rice product from Zatarain’s New Orleans. This brand does not process the wild rice product with any gluten ingredients. Although they add soy sauce in the product, but they use soy sauce that made from soybeans and not wheat. Therefore, you can freely consume the product and enjoy it in your gluten-free diet recipe.
As a warning, always check the label when you want to purchase wild rice product. Pay attention in some product that processed in the shared facility with wheat, barley, or rye. If they use a shared facility, then it may be the subject of cross contamination. Moreover, to make sure the wild rice is gluten free, you can ask the company on your own.