Wine is a beverage that everyone must love; that is why you surely do not want to miss the opportunity to able to enjoy a good wine with a nice dinner. But for you who have gluten sensitivity, you should be wondering is wine gluten-free because you might get some symptom when you drink it.
IsWine Gluten Free? DoesWine Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Gluten Free Wine That Safe To Drink
You should know that wine is gluten-free because in most cases, it only contains 20 parts per million, so you should not get any symptom that could make you feel sick. However, some of you might feel sick when they drink wine; the reason is not because of the wine itself because it is gluten-free.
Sometimes your wine might have been contaminated by other things that contain gluten so it could alter your gluten-free wine then it would not free from gluten anymore. Things that could contaminate your wine, for example, are the colouring or flavouring that used on your wine. This is because they might use other things inside the colouring and flavoring that contains gluten ingredient. That is why you should be careful when choosing your wine and search ingredient information from the manufacturer. It would be better when you choose pure wine that does not contain any colouring or flavouring that could contaminate your wine.
But some of you might also feel the symptom even when you drink pure wine without any added ingredient. The reason is that you are too sensitive even to the smallest amount of gluten that other people could not feel. During the making process of wine, there are also other things that used which may contain gluten. First, there is wine fining that usually made from wheat gluten; the same ingredient also used as a clarifying agent on the wine. There is also paste that created from wheat that used to seal the wooden casks where the wine is aged.
Because of those wheat ingredient used in the making process of wine, then there would be around 1 or 2 parts per million gluten inside the wine. However, this number is actually very small so most people who allergic to gluten would not feel it. Only you who are too sensitive to gluten could feel it.
That is why when you are too sensitive to gluten; it would be better when you search for a wine that aged inside a stainless steel cask so they would not have to use wheat paste to seal it. You also need to contact the vineyard to ask for their fining agent that they used on their wine to make sure that they do not use any wheat ingredient inside their fining agent. But the best way that you could do after you made all of that effort and be able to find a wine that suitable for you is you should not change to other wine. And always buy wine from the same brand since they usually used the same method to make all of their wine variety.