Whenever you want to cook something, you surely not forget to add Worcestershire Sauce inside your food to make it taste better. But after you know that you have celiac disease, you should be very careful when adding anything to your food because you do not want your food to be contaminated by gluten. However is Worcestershire Sauce gluten-free or not, since you might not know what is inside this sauce. The sauce itself has been developed since the early of eighteen century, with more than a hundred years old recipe; you would not be sure whether the recipe is gluten-free or not.
IsWorcestershire Sauce Gluten Free? DoesWorcestershire Sauce Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Worcestershire Sauce
Because Worcestershire Sauce is made over a hundred years ago in, you should be very happy since they made it in pure ingredient with an only little chemical inside so it would be very healthy for someone that has to always pay attention to health such as yourself. Inside the recipe of Worcestershire Sauce made in the United Kingdom, you would be able to find malt vinegar, sugar, anchovies, tamarind and many others. When you see this recipe, you surely find malt vinegar to be suspicious.
When you go to Lea & Perrins Company United Kingdom website, they will state that most of their Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free. But then what about the malt vinegar ingredient that is inside the recipe should malt be containing gluten as it has to? The malt in that ingredient is made from barley that consider as one source that produces gluten inside its grain. However, the Lea & Perrins Company also said that through the distillation process applied to the barley, it would be able to remove the gluten inside it, and then it would be gluten-free. But we could not be too sure about this because there is no exactly proof on this, which is why it would be up to you to decide whether this kind of Worcestershire Sauce is considered gluten-free or not.
Gluten-free Worcestershire Sauce
Luckily for you who live in the United States, the Lea & Perrins Company made their Worcestershire Sauce using a different kind of ingredient. Inside the United States ingredient, they do not use any malt vinegar so the Worcestershire Sauce would not contain any gluten inside. That is why for Worcestershire Sauce that is made in the United States factory, we could say that it is gluten-free.
That is why when you want to find Worcestershire Sauce that is gluten-free, you should try to find one that is made inside the United States. Try to find on the package where the Worcestershire Sauce is made, then to make sure that it is really gluten free you should also check their ingredient if there were malt vinegar used as the ingredient of the Worcestershire Sauce. When they only stated vinegar as the ingredient, then you could try to ask whether the vinegar is made from something that might contain gluten or not. But usually, Worcestershire Sauce made in the United States is gluten-free.