When you bake, you might need to use some yeast on your recipe; however, when you only make gluten-free baking, then you should be asking is yeast gluten free or not. Since you need to be very careful in anything you eat. Especially when you do gluten-free baking because you have celiac disease, which means you could not tolerate gluten in any of your food. When you get gluten inside the food even from a small thing, then you would be sick, which could lead to something more dangerous than just nausea.
IsYeast Gluten Free? DoesYeast Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How could we tell that yeast is gluten-free?
Yeast is a derived product, which means it is taken from something else. This is why to know whether it is gluten-free or not; then you should also know where it is coming from. There are many kinds of yeast that you could find so you should search which type of yeast you use for your baking.
- Active dry yeast: this type of yeast is not common yeast used for baking because it is still in raw form so you usually could not find on the store. The one who uses this kind of yeast is usually professional since they need to process it first before using it. However, since this yeast is still raw, then we could say that it is gluten-free.
- Autolyzed yeast: this type of yeast is a breakdown form of the yeast itself, but it still contains the yeast cell walls, so it is also gluten-free. However, you should be very careful in autolyzed yeast extract because this type of yeast is not gluten free because it is usually made from barley.
- Baker’s yeast: this type of yeast is the one that you usually find on the market which you could use as a leavening agent whenever you do your baking process. This type of yeast is gluten-free.
- Nutritional yeast: this type of yeast is actually yeast that has been deactivated. They seel it as a food product to be used inside your recipe for a condiment. That is why we could say that it is gluten-free.
- Brewer’s yeast: this type of yeast is derived from many kinds of things, but the most common one is taken from barley, which means that it is not gluten-free. However, when it is not taken from barley, then you could say it is gluten-free. What you need to be careful about is that the fact of barley is inside the ingredient of any food is not always call out on the package because there is no regulation on it. That is why it would be better not to consume any of it unless there is a clear gluten-free label on the package.
After you know all the fact about yeast, it would be easier for you to find yeast that is gluten-free. But you still need to search on the package for dangerous yeast such as brewer’s yeast type.