Everyone loves to eat cake, especially cake that has a beautiful name such as angel food cake, the cake also very delicious when combine with whipped cream or fruit syrup. This kind of cake has a white appearance which makes it looked like an angel, however when you have celiac disease you should know is angel food cake gluten-free or not. Because this cake could be your devil if it actually contains gluten, that could make you sick. Since this cake is so popular it actually very simple to get more information on the cake itself.
Is Angel Food Cake Gluten Free? Does Angel Food Cake Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Angel Food Cake
As other cake, this angel food cake is made from cake flour that has a lower level of protein. However, since the flour contains protein, in this case, it means gluten, and then we could say that Angel Food Cake is not gluten-free. But since the cake only has a low level of protein, this means that the cake does not need too much gluten inside the cake. That is why you could try to replace the flour on the cake with other flour that is gluten-free.
Making the gluten-free recipe for angel food cake
Prepare the oven beforehand with 350o Fahrenheit heat and place the rack on the under part of the oven. You need to grind one-quarter teaspoon of salt, and one and three-quarter cups of sugar using a food processor so it would become powder form then take out the half of the mixture. Put in one cup of brown rice flour or other gluten-free flour that you like, and then mix it again until the flour and mixture blend together.
Prepare your mixer bowl and mix twelve egg whites, one teaspoon cream of tartar, one teaspoon of flavoring extract that you like, you could use almond, orange, vanilla, or lemon. Mix until the egg would be a little bit foamy before you add half of the sugar that you have taken out from the mixture in the first step, mix them again until they become soft peak.
Divide the sugar-flour mixture from the food processor into four of one quarter sugar flour mixtures and put inside the egg mixture. Use a rubber spatula to mix the egg and flour together until you could not see any more flour. Do this three times for the rest of the mixture so the two mixtures of flour and eggs would blend completely.
Use tube pan that is not greased with ten inches deep and pour the final mixture inside, use the rubber spatula to smoothen the surface. Then put the pan in the oven for about 40 minutes, take out and let it cool down for around two hours long. After it cools down, you could serve the gluten free angel food cake with any topping that you want. When making your own angel food cake is very easy, then why you need to purchase it? Making it will lower the risk of gluten available from cross contamination so it would be safe to eat.
Ketchup is a must when you want to prepare delicious meals or dishes. Sadly that for celiac disease people there is some limitation regarding gluten products. How about ketchup? Is ketchup gluten free? Is there any ketchup brand that gluten-free? Good news that in the USA you can find gluten-free ketchup anywhere since most ketchup sell in the marker is gluten-free below 20 ppm. So, you can grab it and use it to your dishes.
Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten Free? Does Heinz Ketchup Have Gluten In It Or Not?
One of ketchup brand which you can rely on is Heinz product. Is Heinz ketchup gluten free? Good news for you celiac disease people that this company sells some ketchup which gluten-free. There is some list which prepared by the Heinz company about their gluten-free products. You can find it on its official website completed with gluten-free FAQs or Frequently Asked Questions. On there you can find what the best products for your gluten-free diet.
Some Heinz ketchup that gluten-free is Heinz organic ketchup, Heinz Ketchup in Sachets, Heinz Hot Ketchup, Heinz Balsamic Ketchup, Heinz Tomato Ketchup, Heinz Curry Ketchup, and many more. Those products sell worldwide, but only Heinz Hot and Spicy Kick’rs product sells in the United States. You can find the products on the market easily.
As extra information, Heintz Ketchup considered gluten-free below 20 ppm. Therefore, you can enjoy your meals with Heinz product. Moreover, if some of you have gluten sensitivity then the vinegar ingredient in Heinz Ketchup does not make from wheat but it made from corn and it is gluten-free.
If you have high gluten sensitivity, then we suggest that you need to avoid ketchup that tested with only 20 ppm level. You may want to consider consuming meals and ketchup which tested below 10 ppm. If your sensitivity to gluten is lower, then you can enjoy eating your ketchup which only tested at 20 ppm.
Other Ketchup Brands that Considered Gluten Free
Besides Heinz Ketchup which so popular in America, there is another ketchup brand which also considered gluten-free such as:
- Annie’s Naturals Ketchup: They make ketchup from gluten-free ingredients, and the vinegar they use is made from beets or corn and not from wheat. That is why you can purchase its brand. Moreover, they also stated that they would disclose information such as if they use shared the facility with wheat to make the products. Although, they also said that they only disclose shared the facility with wheat but not with barley or rye on its products.
- Organicville Ketchup: This brand also made organic ketchup that free from gluten. To make you more sure, they certified with gluten-free. The certification issued by Gluten-Free Certification Organization which requires products to be checked in 10 ppm. Moreover, the vinegar they used is not made from gluten grains but from corn or cane.
- Walden Farms Ketchup: This brand gluten-free and tested with 20 ppm. The vinegar they used is not from gluten grains but from white distilled and apple cider which makes them safe to be consumed by celiac disease people.
Potato chips are our favorite snack, and we could eat lots of it. However for someone who has to pay attention to anything that you eat just in case they contain gluten, you should also ask about its ingredients. When we see the ingredient, we could say that potato chips are gluten free because it is made from potatoes. However what you should know is that the potato chips might also get cross contamination from other things that contain gluten thus makes them not gluten free anymore.
Are Potato Chips Gluten Free? Do Potato Chips Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Brands that has gluten free potato chips
To make it easier, we will just give you the list of potato chips that does not contain gluten. That is why you could easily eat it without worry, gluten contamination has been a big issue on manufacturing company, and this is why there are more and more companies which stated they are gluten free.
Frito Lay Potato Chips
This brand has tested their entire product so they could add gluten-free labels to their product which contains less than 20 parts per million glutens. The gluten free version includes Lays, Stax, and Ruffles flavor which has been tested and labeled. However, you still need to be very careful on another flavor especially one that does not have any gluten free label since it means they could get contamination.
Food Should Taste Good Potato Chips
This brand has tested their entire product for gluten free even in the tightest standard of 10 parts per million. This is why it would be safe to eat potato chips from this brand. The potato that they create includes the package in small and full sized bags which would be a great addition to your family gathering.
POPchips Potato Chips
This brand also tested their entire product. Moreover, the potato chips from their company would be healthier since they are created with popping method which does not need a lot of oil to make it. You could also find many kinds of favorite flavor for this brand which would be nice to eat with your family.
Kettle Potato Chips
This brand tested all of their potato chips so it would be gluten-free. What best from this brand is because they made all of their potato chips in special environment that dedicated only to create food that is gluten free so there would be no cross contamination that could happen in their factory.
Since celiac disease people need to avoid meals that contain gluten, they need always to be careful with food products offered in stores. This may make you tired and struggle about how to find a good meal without any gluten in it. Breakfast is the time you can enjoy early dishes such as delicious and low-calorie Quaker Oatmeal with various fruits as extra ingredients to make it more tasteful. But, is Quaker Oatmeal safe for celiac disease people? Is it okay to consume Quaker Oatmeal if you suffer from gluten insensitivity?
Is Quaker Oatmeal Gluten Free? Does Quaker Oatmeal Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Pure oatmeal without any extra ingredients is safe to consume for celiac disease people because it is gluten-free. Put it aside, oatmeal with extra ingredients sometimes are not safe since it may contain some gluten in those added ingredients. How about Quaker Oatmeal? There is not the gluten-free label on Quaker Oatmeal package, so we cannot find the exact answer whether Oatmeal from Quaker brand is safe to consume for gluten intolerance. Not to mention that most oatmeal brands offered in stores today are not pure.
Pure oatmeal certainly is gluten free but today oatmeal in the market can contain gluten because of cross-contamination. If you still do not sure about whether your oatmeal which you buy is 100 percent gluten-free or not, then you need to buy only oatmeal products that labeled with gluten-free certification.
But still, you need always to pay attention to cross contamination in oatmeal. Oatmeal can be contaminated through the oatmeal process until the packaging process and even when they already at stores. The problems of gluten cross-contamination also valid for Quaker Oatmeal brand. Therefore, a certified gluten-free oatmeal brand can also get some cross contamination. There are some cross contamination cases which possible can happen:
- Oatmeal can contaminate with gluten during the milling Some companies do not separate the machine to grind their oat and wheat or other grains. That is why after they grind the wheat, they clean it and use it again to process the oat. You cannot be sure the wheat already one hundred percent cleaned on those machines since it would take much time to clean the milling machine. Moreover, not only the machine will be the cause of cross-contamination, but also other facilities such as storage areas.
- Oatmeal can contaminate with gluten during the delivery process: You can be sure that the companies use different trucks to deliver the oatmeal from one place to another. It possible that they use the same truck to bring the wheat or grains and the oatmeal.
Oatmeal Brands which 100 Percent Certified Gluten Free
Example of other oatmeal brands that certified with gluten-free label such as:
- Cream Hill Estates brand: They guarantee that they use pure So it safe for celiac disease people to consume.
- Avena Food brand: This product also safe to consume for gluten intolerance.
- Bobs Red Mill: This product made with gluten-free facility also they already stated that the oatmeal is gluten-free.
Someone who has a problem with gluten because of their celiac disease, they surely want to avoid gluten. However you surely wonder is corn gluten free, especially after you heard that there is gluten inside the corn. You should know that even though corn is also considered as grain plant, but this plant has a different branch from the wheat plant that also contains gluten that dangerous for you. That is why the gluten inside the corn is also different from other gluten you could not it. This is why we could say that corn is gluten-free especially in the form of gluten that could make you sick.
Is Corn Gluten Free? Does Corn Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Eating Corn Dish For Celiac Disease
When the corn is safe to consume, then you could easily consume any dish which made from corn. However, you should only choose a dish which made from the purest corn because there would be a time when the corn could contain dangerous gluten through contamination. For example, the corn could be stored in the same containers with other food that contain gluten, the corn could also be processed in the same appliance that used to process other food with gluten, or the corn dish is put side by side with other food that contains gluten. Through those process the corn could get cross contamination, thus makes it not gluten-free.
When you want to purchase frozen corn, cornmeal, or creamy corn you should see their ingredient on the package. Usually, those products are made from cornstarch with some sugar for added flavor. When seeing those ingredients, you surely think that the product would be gluten free. However, that might not be true since the product could be contaminated by gluten during the making process. Within the factory, they might process other food with the same machine, which is why there might be something that could contaminate the corn.
For you who like to eat corn muffins which said to be made from corn, you still need to be very careful when purchasing it because it actually contains a lot of wheat compared to the corn ingredient. This is why it would be very dangerous for your body, so you need to ask for the maker if they really do not use wheat flour at all. For popcorn, you should try to purchase original popcorn without any added flavor. However, you also need to make sure that they do not process it with dangerous oil or butter that contains gluten. Cornflakes could also be dangerous for you since they have malt sweetener which made from wheat so it would be dangerous.
Brand with Gluten Free Corn
To make it easier, you might want to purchase the product from Bob’s Red Mill brand which makes several gluten-free products version. This manufacturer separates their gluten-free product production process from other product so it would not be contaminated with anything. This is why they would be able to pass the 20 parts per million standards and get to attached gluten-free label on their package.
However, for you who highly sensitive to gluten, you might want to search other product with the tighter standard of 10 parts per million which means the product contains less gluten thus makes it safer for you. That is why whenever you purchase any brand, first you should search for the gluten-free label on the package or you could also try to see the ingredient on the package to see any dangerous ingredient. Even after the label is found, you would also need to see or ask on their website to see the standard that they use for the product.
Celiac disease people are sensitive to gluten. If they eat foods which contain gluten, then they will suffer health problems. Therefore, it is good to know which foods that contain gluten and which foods are not. Many people struggle to find snacks or dish that gluten free for their gluten free diet. They need to search and make sure that the food brands they purchase are made from gluten free ingredients.
Are Marshmallows Gluten Free? Do Marshmallows Have Gluten In It Or Not?
To know which food is gluten free then you can read the ingredients on packages or ask the store just to make sure. For example, if you like to eat marshmallows then are marshmallows gluten free? If it not, then is there any marshmallow brand that free from gluten so you can buy them?
There is marshmallow which contains gluten, and there is also marshmallow which does not contain gluten. It depends on the brand and country you life. In the USA for example, there are two brands of marshmallow that gluten free and they claim they used gluten free ingredients. In another country, if their wheat products are cheaper than corn products usually they made the marshmallow with wheat and wheat is one of the main grains that contain gluten. If the countries prefer to use corn syrup than wheat syrup, you can say it safe for your gluten sensitivity.
Gluten Free Marshmallow Brands
There are two products which you can eat if you suffer celiac diseases such as Doumak Inc. and Kraft Foods Inc. These two brands popular as a gluten free product. Kraft as we know they make a lot of food and snack products and include Jet-Puffed marshmallows. This marshmallow comes vary in size from jumbo marshmallow which suitable for campfire day to mini marshmallow which you can add to your hot chocolate. You can find and purchase Kraft marshmallow easily at many stores.
Usually, Kraft will tell you whether their products is gluten free or not from its packages. If you cannot find any gluten free label, then we can tell you for sure that the marshmallow they made is always gluten free plus they do not subject for cross contamination.
Another brand which you can trust is marshmallow from Doumak. Not like Kraft, this company only makes marshmallow products, and all of them are gluten free. They produce Campfire brand marshmallow for your campfire activity and for private brands in a store like CVS and Walmart store.
There is the third marshmallow brand which you can say that it is gluten-free called Marshmallow Peeps. Peeps make their marshmallow with Just Born, and it is gluten free. Before, they only sell it in Easter season, but now they sell it in any seasons with different sizes and colors. Each season will have different themes and shapes of Marshmallow Peeps. You need to still pay attention with the package of Marshmallow Peeps, if the package completed with gluten free label then you can be safe to eat it. Last but not least, you always be creative with your marshmallow by make and mix them as your favorite snacks.
Halloween is coming up, so we need to have a selection of candies to give away this year. One of the most popular Halloween candy is the Reeses Pieces because this candy has an orange color which matches well with Halloween pumpkin color. But if you are going to give away any candy, you need to make sure that the Reeses Pieces are safe to eat. Especially when there are some kids that have celiac disease, you need to make firstly sure are Reeses Pieces gluten free or not before letting them eat the candies.
Are Reeses Pieces Gluten Free? Do Reeses Pieces Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Reeses Pieces
The Reeses Pieces is made mainly from peanut butter which then filled into candy shells in three different colors that match the company signature colors. When we see this ingredient, we could say that the Reeses Pieces is gluten free since there is no gluten ingredient inside the candies. We could be safe from the ingredient because The Hershey Company has clearly stated that they will include any ingredient that might cause any allergy to a different person in all of their product packaging and that also includes ingredient that may contain gluten. This is why if you want to be one hundred percent sure about it, then you could always check the Reeses Pieces packaging before you purchase them.
However, that might not be enough answer for some of you that might need to confirm whether there is cross contamination inside their Reeses Pieces production. We all know that The Hershey Company does not only produce gluten free food, then the possibility of cross contamination for the Reeses Pieces is still there. But The Hershey Company has included the Reeses Pieces in their gluten free product so we could be sure that they would not do something stupid with their list. What need to be a concern is the fact that The Hershey Company has not included any gluten-free label on their packaging, which means that their Reeses Pieces has not been tested whether they really do not contain gluten.
If The Hershey Company has bravely stated that Reeses Pieces is gluten free, then we suspected that they might consider it gluten free because they only contain 20 parts per million of gluten standard. That also mean the Reeses Pieces would be safe only for most people with celiac disease that are not too sensitive to gluten. But for you who are mostly sensitive to gluten, then this standard need to be studied furthermore. Usually for you who are mostly sensitive to gluten, we suggested that you should get at least 10 parts per million of gluten standard so you would not feel anything after eating your candies.
But when that is still not enough, and you still feel sick after you eat with that standard, it means that you are highly sensitive to gluten. For this kind of person, then the standard should be as high as 5 parts per million to be considered safe for you to eat. However, finds candies with this standard might rather difficult.
Celiac disease makes people who suffer from it avoid gluten. Gluten is a protein which found in three main grains such as barley, wheat, and rye. These grains needed to avoid by celiac disease people since if they consume it, they will get unhealthy symptoms. Gluten-free diet is the only way for celiac disease people to avoid foods or dishes that contain gluten.
Is Olive Oil Gluten Free? Does Olive Oil Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Sometimes people struggle to find good dishes for their diet. How about olive oil? Is olive oil gluten free or maybe it has gluten instead? The answer is olive oil contains no gluten so yes it is gluten-free. Therefore, you can safely and enjoy dishes with olive oil ingredient.
Gluten and Olive Oil Information
The fact that olive oil is gluten free is good news for celiac disease people. In the market, there is a lot of olive oil products besides plain or pure olive oil such as extra virgin olive oil and light olive oil, but all of these products are gluten-free. There also olive oil with extra flavors which you can purchase in the market. Most of flavor olive oil is safe for celiac disease people because they sell it without any gluten ingredients or gluten flavors. Even though, the company made them without any gluten ingredients you still need to check the label since possibility there is another producer which use extra gluten ingredients. Do not worry because the ingredient list will be easy to understand.
Are there any oil products that free from gluten? Yes, they are. You can purchase like canola oil, corn oil, sesame oil, coconut oil, and vegetable oil are safe to be used for gluten intolerance. There are made from gluten-free plants and as long as you only use pure oil without any extra gluten ingredients so we can conclude that they are free from gluten. If you want to buy oil with extra flavors always check the label, maybe they can contain wheat flavors or flours. For example like cooking oil spray. Actually, most cooking oil spray sell in the market are gluten-free with some exception like product from Pam brand and Crisco brand. Both of these brands use wheat flour, and they also listed this ingredient on the product’s package because the law asked the company to disclose it. Anyway, there also other cooking oil spray that uses flour as an extra ingredient but if the flour is derived from wheat grain then they must disclose it, so do not worry. What you need to do is just check the label.
Brand Recommendation for Gluten Free Olive Oil
Is there olive oil brand that 100 percent free from gluten? Of course, there is a lot of olive oil brand that free from gluten and one of it is olive oil from Annie brand. Annie’s Naturals. This brand made the olive oil without gluten, and they also made other gluten-free products such as herb dipping oil and even they make olive oil with delicious flavor. They give gluten-free label on its products.