People with celiac disease are suffering from gluten protein which available in certain kinds of grains such as Whey, rye, or barley. This is why they need to avoid foods which contain gluten in their ingredient. They would also need to be cautious about all the foods that they eat to make sure that they do not eat anything they are not supposed to.
Is Whey Gluten Free? Does Whey Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Then what about Whey? Is whey gluten free? Whey is a type of protein available in milk. It gained from the leftover liquid is taken from the making of curds. Because of this non grain ingredient and obviously different type of protein, then we could say that whey is gluten free.
Whey Allergic and Gluten
But how about you who feel sick after you consume whey powder? You should know that when someone having celiac disease, there are some parts on their intestine that does not function in the right way. Usually, the cell that needed to creates lactase used to break the lactose could not perform their function, thus making them allergic to lactose. This is why people could suffer both celiac disease and lactose intolerant together; that is why you could still feel sick when consuming whey. Even though whey is not lactose but because it is coming from milk, the person who lactose intolerant should avoid whey for precaution. However, this would only occur to someone who highly sensitive to lactose, so when you are not that sensitive, then you still consume whey easily.
The use of whey protein to our body
Since we could not consume Whey when we have celiac disease because of the gluten protein, then we need to search other protein that could fulfil the same role as the Whey protein. That is why some people with celiac disease choose whey to replace their protein source. This protein contains amino acids which really great protein since your body could easily digest and absorb it; thus, you will get a lot of energy from it. Moreover, the whey protein powder could also be mixed with other food that you take in your gluten-free diet. It would be able to add more texture on your cooked ingredient; this is why the whey could also be used on your recipe to replace other powder or flour,
This is why it is highly recommended for you to consume pure whey to gain the protein benefits from it. However, you also need to be cautious because there could be a way that makes the gluten-free whey could contain gluten because of contamination. For example, when the manufacturer uses the same machine to pack whey powder product and flour, then there would be a possibility for the flour to mixing in the whey thus makes it contain gluten. This is why it is important for you to search whey which labelled with gluten free so it would be safer to consume because it means that they pay attention to the making and packing process so the whey would not be contaminated.
Celiac disease people should always avoid gluten food because those foods would be able to make them sick. So people with celiac disease would be more cautious with everything they eat because they do not want to have any gluten in their food. Even a little trace of gluten would be able to make you sick, so you should know it is spelt gluten free?
Is Spelt Gluten Free? Does Spelt Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Spelt itself is actually a type of grain wheat that has been consumed since the ancient medieval times. They are mostly are known in Europe because they are considered as the healthy alternative of grain that would be better to eat than the regular wheat. Because of that information, we could say that spelt is not gluten-free so you who have celiac disease should avoid it from getting to your food. You should be very grateful because food that contains spelt would not be labelled as wheat free so you could recognize the gluten material inside even though you do not know this ingredient.
The use of spelt for cooking
Usually this spelt is made into flour to be used to cook many kinds of food. You could always find them in many kinds of bread that you find on the market because it could be used to substitute the whole grain wheat and even regular wheat used to bake anything. That is why when you want to purchase any bread, and then you need to make sure what kind of flour they use inside the bread. Even if they do not use any wheat flour, you still need to ask them what kind of flour they use because they might use Spelt since this type of flour has more nutrition than wheat.
For foods with gravy, you should also be very careful because usually, they use wheat flour to thicken the gravy. Sometimes they would not use wheat, but they might use spelt to thicken their gravy, which is why you should ask what kind of thickening agent they use. As an alternative, you could actually use corn, potato or even tapioca flour to thicken your gravy, and all of those flours are gluten-free so you could safely consume it. When you go to an Italian food, you surely love to eat pasta. However, you should know that even if they do not use any wheat inside their pasta, they might also use spelt to create the pasta. The reason is that the spelt will give more nutrients to the pasta, thus make the pasta feel better.
Even if you had avoided all of that food, you should be very careful when choosing your food from any health food store because spelt is also consider an as healthy alternative for wheat so most health food store would use this spelt as their main ingredient to substitutes the wheat. That is why when you search for wheat-free food on the health food store, you should always search for the gluten-free label to make sure they really use gluten-free alternative to substitutes the wheat.
Many people still consuming sugar, especially gluten, intolerance people. Do they always want to know whether eating sugar is safe for them? Celiac disease, people who have a problem with gluten foods, need to avoid consume grains since it is the main sources of gluten. They need to do a gluten-free diet. How about sugar? Is sugar gluten free? Since sugar does not derived from grains like barley, wheat, and rye, then sugar is gluten-free. Sugar is made from sugar cane and although this sugar cane has a form of the grass plant and related with grains, but it does not contain gluten protein. That is why; you who follow a gluten-free diet program can enjoy pure sugar made from sugar cane.
Is Sugar Gluten Free? Does Sugar Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Cross Contamination that might Happen in Sugar
Even though sugar is gluten free, you still need to be careful, especially if you have high gluten insensitivity since there is a problem if the sugar gets cross-contamination. If the sugar being subject to gluten cross-contamination, you need to avoid it. But how do you know whether the sugar gets cross-contamination or not? Most of the gluten cross-contamination can happen in the kitchen or in grocery stores.
You should be careful when you have a shared the kitchen at home. Sugar can be contaminated by the appliances you use or the way you store the sugar. If you have shared kitchen, then it is possible that you use the appliances which already been used to prepare gluten ingredients or foods for your sugar. For example, maybe you prepare sugar in a cup, and unfortunately, the cup has been used to measure wheat. So the sugar will be cross contamination with gluten. Moreover, maybe accidentally you use spoon which already cross contaminated by gluten to take the sugar. That is why you need to tell your family about this problem and label all of your gluten free products.
Gluten cross-contamination can also happen in grocery stores. For example, if the stores put the sugar and wheat flour side by side on the same shelves. It often happens especially in a small store, and when the flour placed next to sugar, then it is possible that the flour may stick in the sugar package. Therefore, it is better for you to purchase sugar in large stores since larger store usually put the sugar and flour in different shelves. It seems paranoid, but this case ever happens with some celiac disease people.
Gluten Free Sugar Brands
There are some organic sugar brands which you can purchase and they are gluten-free such as:
- Sugar from Trader Joe brand: they have several lists of gluten-free sugar.
- Sugar from Wholesome Sweeteners brand: The Company states that the sugar they produce is gluten free plus manufactured in clean and gluten free environment.
- Sugar from Sugar in the Raw brand: The Company states that their sugar products made in clean and gluten free environment. Moreover, they also said the products do not touch with any gluten ingredients.
These brands perfect for you who suffer from celiac disease and you can enjoy your gluten-free diet.
Celiac disease people need to avoid gluten food since their body cannot tolerate gluten protein. What is gluten? Gluten is a protein that we can find in grains such as barley, rye, and wheat. When those who suffer from celiac disease consume foods or meals that contain gluten or eat ingredients that derived from gluten, then their body will react in some unhealthy symptoms.
Is Tapioca Gluten Free? Does Tapioca Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Sometimes people do not become aware that their body is gluten sensitivity until they check their body at hospital or doctor. When you suffer from gluten intolerance, then the symptoms that always occur such as vomit, migraine, headache, anaemia, and so on, these symptoms usually will be mistaken by people as usual diseases.
Unfortunately, there is no cure for celiac disease. The only way to keep gluten from your body is to do a gluten-free diet program. You need to eat only meals that free from gluten, and this is what makes people often struggle when they cannot find any foods that contain no gluten.
Gluten Free and Tapioca Information for Celiac Disease
How about tapioca? Is tapioca gluten free? Good news for you who suffer from gluten sensitivity that pure tapioca is gluten-free. That is why you can enjoy eating meals or dish made from tapioca such as tapioca flour or tapioca starch.
What is tapioca flour or tapioca starch? Tapioca starch or flour is white flour that has a bit sweet taste. If you cannot eat bread baked from wheat flour, then use tapioca flour or starch as an alternative for gluten-free flour. This tapioca flour is very popular among celiac disease peoples for the baking ingredient. The flour is derived from cassava plant from South America and not made from any grains that become the sources of gluten such as barley, rye, or wheat. When the plants are ready to be harvested, the farmer will take the roots and process them to remove any toxins. The process will be repeated between pulping and washing until the starch extracted from the roots. There is no gluten involved in these processes, and therefore, you can enjoy your food made from pure and white tapioca flour.
The Good Benefits from Tapioca Flour
Tapioca which derived from cassava plants besides free from gluten also good to improve texture in your baked bread. This flour will make the bread more chewy and crunchy. Moreover, since tapioca has a smooth form, it can act as thickeners for your sauce and soups. It has no smell or any weird taste for your dishes. You can also use it with other gluten-free ingredients.
Cross-Contamination in Tapioca
Tapioca flour can be a subject of cross contamination. That is why you need to store tapioca packages in a different place from any gluten ingredients. Cross-contamination can happen when you put the tapioca side by side with wheat flour since the wheat may stick into tapioca packages. Moreover, pay attention to the appliances you use to prepare the tapioca flour. Make sure that you do not use appliances that already touched with any gluten ingredients.
There are many kinds of ingredient that you could find on your kitchen, that is why when you want to make your kitchen gluten-free because you are suffering from celiac disease, and then you should know whether the ingredient inside your kitchen is gluten-free or not. For example, is Spelt Flour gluten free because this kind of flour is often used on the kitchen to bake many kinds of food.
Is Spelt Flour Gluten Free? Does Spelt Flour Have Gluten In It Or Not?
To know whether a food is gluten free or not, then you should know what they really are. For Spelt Flour, it is of course made from the spelt grain which is also a type of ancient wheat. However, this type of wheat flour is used by more and more people because they think that this flour contains more nutrients compared to the original flour made from wheat grain. That is also the reason why you could often find this ingredient in many stores that sold healthy product and food. From that explanation, we could clearly say that Spelt Flour is not gluten-free because it is also made from a type of wheat grain.
How to avoid Spelt Flour for gluten-free diet?
That is why whenever you want to eat anything, especially baked things, then you need to be able to avoid from consuming Spelt Flour. Especially we as a person with celiac disease that always go to the healthy store because we think that we could avoid many types of gluten in those stores. Meaning from now on we should always make sure that any product we purchase even from the health show could contain gluten.
Most people with celiac disease will avoid purchasing any baked product since most likely it will contain gluten from the wheat flour. However, even if they said that they do not use wheat flour does not mean you would be safe from the wheat because they might use this Spelt Flour as a substitute for the wheat flour which could make the bread to be healthier.
Another used of Spelt Flour is as a thickening agent for gravy and any sauce. This is why when you go to the restaurant to order something, you should always ask what kind of flour they use to thicken the gravy and sauce. And if they said that they do not use wheat flour, they might use this Spelt Flour, so you need to be very careful from it.
Last but not least, Spelt Flour is also used to create pasta because they could make the pasta to contain more nutrients and be healthier. This is why you need to ask if the healthy pasta you eat on your Italian restaurant has also contains Spelt Flour or not. Trying to avoid gluten inside your food would only be possible when you know the kind of ingredient you are looking for. This is why you need to know which ingredient that contains gluten and which one is not. When you do not know anything about one ingredient it would be better to avoid it.
You might know soy sauce from the Asian cuisine that often used it as their main ingredient. That is why you should know is soy sauce gluten free or not before you dine in any Asian restaurant. For your shocking information, soy sauce is not gluten-free; the reason is that in most soy sauce, it uses wheat as a part of their main ingredient. This is why you should be careful when you order any Asian food to ask whether they use soy sauce inside their ingredient or not because for someone who has celiac disease it would be very dangerous for you.
Is Soy Sauce Gluten Free? Does Soy Sauce Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Free gluten version of Soy Sauce
However, you should not have to worry because there is a way that used to make soy sauce so it would not have to use wheat as its main ingredient. When made by using this method, and then the soy sauce would be free from gluten so you could easily consume it. The type of soy sauce make using this method is called tamari, and for your convenience, there is more and more product of soy sauce made in this method. For you who want to be still able to use soy sauce in their cooking ingredient, we will give to you some brand that makes a gluten-free version of tamari soy sauce.
- San-J Soy Sauce: this brand creates some of their soy sauce in tamari type so you could search for the gluten-free product from this brand. Besides the original taste, they also create the organic and low sodium version of the soy sauce so you would have even more selection to choose from. They are sold in bottled or in a small individual package that you could easily carry everywhere you need. The best thing about this soy sauce is that they have less than 5 parts per million gluten-free standards.
- Kikkoman Soy Sauce: this brand creates their soy sauce only with soy, water, salt and rice so it would be gluten-free. They also have tested their product for 20 parts per million standards so they could acquire the gluten-free label that you just need to find when you want to purchase this product. This brand is relatively easy to find in a supermarket, just remember that they also have the other version of tamari soy sauce which is not gluten-free, which is why it is important to search for the label.
- Eden Organic Soy Sauce: this brand has two kinds of gluten-free tamari soy sauce, which originated from the US and one that imported from Japan. They create their soy sauce using water, grain alcohol, koji, and sea salt. But you should not have to worry because they only use corn as the grain alcohol ingredient for a product that originally from the US while the one imported from Japan use rice as their grain alcohol ingredient; both ingredient is gluten-free so it would be save for you to consume.
- Kari Out Soy Sauce: this brand is actually specified in creating carry out items so they would only sell their product in a small package, but you could still purchase 400 small bags in bulk for a lower price. Since the owner of this manufacturer also has celiac disease, they decide to create the gluten-free and lower sodium version for their soy sauce. You could purchase their product easily from many online resellers, or you could also find it in some Chinese restaurant that you dine in by asking for this specific brand so you would be safe when you eat one.
Gluten intolerance or gluten sensitivity need to avoid grains such as barley, rye, and wheat since they are the three main grains that contain gluten. If the foods, meals, dishes, or ingredients made and derived from these grains, then do not consume it. Unfortunately, there is a lot of gluten ingredients in the market, and that is why you need to know how to differentiate the gluten ingredients and gluten-free ingredients.
Is Soy Lecithin Gluten Free? Does Soy Lecithin Have Gluten In It Or Not?
How about soy lecithin? Is soy lecithin gluten free? We can assure you that soy or soya is gluten-free, and so does soy lecithin. Soy lecithin derived from soy and soy itself does not include or made from gluten grains which we already mentioned above. Therefore, you can be safe to consume gluten-free products that have soy lecithin in the label.
There is some case from celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity that consumes soy lecithin, but they suddenly have unhealthy symptoms due to the soy lecithin. Why is that so? It may because they do not check the label or maybe they do not purchase soy lecithin products with a gluten-free label. Even though soy lecithin is gluten free but sometimes the company that produces it often add extra gluten additives to change the soy. If that the case, then the gluten-free soy lecithin will contaminate. You need to check the label before you purchase it and it is better to buy a product with a gluten-free label only. It may confuse you, but it is better for your own safety.
The other causes are maybe the result of soy allergy. According to U.S.Code 321, soy is one of the eight allergens, and sometimes people who suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity can also allergy with other ingredients which include soy. Therefore, if you want to serve your celiac disease friend, ask her first whether she has another allergic issue even though you already purchased gluten-free soy lecithin product.
So, who need to avoid soy lecithin? First, people who have soy allergic need to avoid soy lecithin. Second, people who also have some allergy with oils since soy lecithin are derived from soy oil. If you do not know, the soy oil processed with hexane, and then it turns into this soy lecithin. Last but not least, people who concern with Genetically Modified Organisms food or GMO.
Information about Lecithin
Lecithin is derived not only from soya but also other ingredients, including gluten grains. That is why since soy lecithin is gluten-free, it does not mean all the lecithin also contain no gluten. You need to watch out and check the label first. But, do not worry because most lecithins made from soy and it is very popular.
Lecithin is usually used for release agent for baked foods. Moreover, it is also useful as an emulsifier, dispersing help and stabilizer. Lecithin often used for final products less than one per cent and they have only used it in a small amount. Anyway, soy lecithin also has nutrition that good for your body. Therefore, there is a soy lecithin supplement which you can find in the market.
Suffering from celiac disease means you need to avoid gluten products. Sometimes people think that suffering from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity means you will have foods list limitation. The fact is not because there are a lot of products labelled with gluten-free and there also a lot of dishes that do not contain gluten. In America, we know that the percentage of people who have celiac disease is small, but it does not mean companies in the market do not care about those people. There is a lot of organic products that safe to be eaten by celiac disease. For example, is sourdough bread. Is sourdough bread gluten free? Of course, it is, and that is why we recommend you guys to eat sourdough bread because it is good for gluten-free diet menu.
Is Sourdough Bread Gluten Free? Does Sourdough Bread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Sourdough Bread
What is sourdough bread? Sourdough bread is one type of bread which made and processed with fermentation using lactobacilli and yeast. The process of fermentation takes a long time, and it also has a sour taste because of lactobacilli which produce lactic acid. Compared with regular bread, which you usually see, sourdough is had higher nutrition and more delicious in taste. With the fermentation process, sourdough improved the quality of bread, which you will not find in any other bread without the fermentation process.
Long ago most breads made with sourdough style. The bread will be fermented with yeast and lactobacilli. During the fermentation process, the dough will have cavernous holes which appear because of this process. Next, the gluten protein will break out because of the long fermentation process with the help of good bacteria. This will make the bread become gluten-free or contain gluten but at the lower level.
There is some study that uses bread made from wheat flour, but they process it with sourdough style because the wheat flour bread processed with the sourdough style, the gluten protein in the dough breaks out. When the researchers serve the wheat flour bread processed with sourdough style for gluten sensitivity people, their body does not react in any bad symptoms or even suffer from any ill. It proves that the sourdough is really good for celiac disease people and good as traditional bread process.
When you have celiac disease, you need to have a habit of checking the ingredient that available inside the food you want to eat. It is one thing that you should always do to make sure that there is no hidden ingredient that contains gluten available inside the food or other side food that you might eat. One side food that you always add to other dish is sour cream. However, you still need to make sure is sour cream gluten-free or not. When your gluten-free food is added with something that is not gluten-free, then it would contaminate the food to be not gluten-free anymore.
Is Sour Cream Gluten Free? Does Sour Cream Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Sour Cream
This side food is made using cream which obtained from the milk then added with certain bacteria that will make the cream becomes sour and eventually thicken the form of the cream. When we see this pure ingredient of sour cream, then we could say that this cream is indeed gluten-free. However, we could not stop only there because sour cream has many kinds of variation that we need to think of.
The first version that you should pay attention is the light sour cream. This cream contains less fat because it is made from cream and milk. However, because it does not contains enough fat, so the form would not thicken that much. This is why they would add a thickening agent to the cream so it could form the right thickness for the sour cream. The second version is the fat-free sour cream which does not contain any cream at all since it is mainly made from non-fat milk with a thickening agent.
Inside those varieties of sour cream one thing that you should concern about is the thickening agent because they often use starch as the thickening agent. And as you know, some starch contains gluten because it is often made from wheat starch. However, manufacturer in America usually uses corn starch for the ingredient because wheat starch is more popular in a European country.
How to make sure that sour cream is gluten-free
The main thing that you should do is to check whether they have a gluten-free label on the package of the sour cream, or you could also try to ask the manufacturer through their customer service. You could also try to see the starch ingredient that they use for their product, and most importantly to avoid any sour cream which is imported from Europe because of they are more likely to use wheat starch.
Even when the product is made inside the US, you should also be careful about the cross-contamination that might happen during the manufacturing process. Usually, pure sour cream is not subject to contamination. However, when you use a flavoured version of sour cream, it might have more change in cross contamination than the other version. Usually, the manufacturer would also call out for this cross contamination problem on their packaging. This is another reason why you should always check everything you purchase.
We will never get enough if we discuss about celiac disease. What is celiac disease? It means that your body allergic to some protein in grains such as barley, wheat, and rye. These three main grains are the sources of gluten, and the gluten is the protein type that we already mentioned before. Unfortunately, there is no cure for celiac disease people. The only way to treat celiac disease is to maintain a gluten-free diet program. A gluten-free diet is done by avoids foods which made from the three main grains which we already mentioned before or any ingredients derived from those grains.
Is Rye Bread Gluten Free? Does Rye Bread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
One question for bread lover who maybe suffers from celiac disease or gluten intolerance is whether the bread they eat contain gluten. There are several pieces of bread that contain no gluten but there also some bread that contains gluten. How about rye bread? Is rye bread gluten free? Rye bread definitely contains gluten since it made from rye, one of the three main grains that produce gluten protein.
Information about Rye Bread
Rye bread is made from rye flour and may have a dark colour or lighter colour. The colors the bread have depend on the what kind of rye flour is used and also the extra colour agents contained in the dough. Usually, the breads made from rye flour is denser compared with the breads made from wheat flour. It also has a stronger flavour that breads made from wheat flour or white breads plus higher fibre which is good for the body. Besides that fact, there still a lot of rye bread benefits which you can get if you do not suffer from celiac disease.
Rye bread contains gluten, and that is why you need to avoid it if you suffer celiac disease. But, there is also some case that gluten sensitive people can eat rye bread and only suffer from the milder reaction which they can still take. Why? Maybe it is because they have a lower gluten sensitivity, so the body has less reaction with gluten.
Most of products and foods in the market which labelled with gluten free only tested with 20 ppm gluten level, but still they are considered as gluten-free. If you have high gluten sensitivity level, then it is better if you do not eat those products that only tested by 20 ppm. You should try to find other products or brands that tested by 10 ppm gluten and do not worry because there is a lot of product labelled with gluten free and already checked by 10 pm. Therefore, always check the label and ingredients used when you want to consume your bread.
Anyway, there is a lot of rye bread alternatives which you can eat, and they also have delicious taste such as cornbread, and potato bread. You can prepare your dishes with these bread, and they are a lot of food gluten-free recipes which you can follow used corn and potato bread. Always be creative when dealing with your gluten-free diet menu and enjoy your meal!