For you who love to eat Italian food, you surely love to eat risotto. But for you who have celiac disease, then you should be very careful about what you eat in the Italian restaurant. Then is risotto gluten free? Risotto is made from rising and broth so it would have a creamy taste. They choose medium or short grain white rice to make the dish because this type of rice could absorb the broth. There are many kinds of rice that used to make this dish such as Arborio, carnaroli, and vialone nano are the most common rice used. For the broth, they use meat, vegetable and even fist to make the rice more delicious.
Is Risotto gluten free? Does Risotto have gluten in it or not?
The Fact About Risotto and It’s Gluten Free Actually
When you see the ingredient that we mention above, you could easily say that it is gluten-free. The reason is that the kind of rice that they used to make the dish is different kind of grain that contains gluten so it would not contain gluten at all. The same could be said for the vegetable since most vegetable in their natural form would not contain any gluten. However, you need to pay attention to the added ingredient since that is where the gluten usually comes from. Sometimes the restaurant would also add wine to the risotto when their recipe says so, for most people they would not feel any effect from in because wine only contains less than 20 parts per million, however for the extra sensitive person they might feel sick after consuming certain wine. That is why when you do not know which wine the restaurant use, it would be better for you to eat one that does not contain wine. Or you might want to ask them to use wine that suitable for you.
Gluten contamination in risotto
Another thing that you should know is that the risotto might get contaminated by gluten food in the making process of the dish inside the Italian restaurant kitchen. If that restaurant you go does not really pay attention to the gluten-free food, they might have used the same pans or plates that they used to cook and serve gluten food. That is why there might still be a small trace of gluten inside the cookware and dishware they used. So you need to ask to the chef whether they use dedicated cookware and dishware for gluten-free food. If not, then it would be better when you do not dine in that restaurant.
But even if they already use dedicated cookware and dishware, there are still ways that the gluten could contaminate the risotto. First, they might use the same storage for the rice and other food which contain gluten, even worse if they placed it side by side or on the same rack of food. Even in its raw form, they could already be contaminated by wheat flour that easily fly away just by a small blow from the air conditioner or when they more it.
You should also pay attention to how they serve your risotto. Since the Italian restaurant is busy especially in the dinner time, they might just place every dish on one table before being delivered to the customer. When your gluten-free risotto is placed beside another dish that contains gluten, then the gluten might be able to touch the risotto, thus makes it not gluten-free anymore. This is why everything needs to be observed carefully when you dine outside at a restaurant. Perhaps the best way for you to get the real gluten-free risotto is by cooking it yourself.
Pretzel is everyone favorites snack to be had when you relaxed or gather with your family and friends. But when you do that, you should remember to ask if there is someone that intolerant to gluten so you could provide the gluten free version. Are Pretzels Gluten Free? Then the answer is no for most Pretzels because they are made from flour which is not gluten free. That is why you should be very careful when purchasing any pretzel for your family and friends.
Are Pretzels Gluten Free? Do Pretzels Have Gluten In It Or Not?
List of Pretzel Brand You Can Eat
But you should not worry too much because now you could actually find many pretzel makers that create the gluten free version for their pretzel. This is due their concern to the Pretzels fans that could not eat it because they are intolerant to gluten. For you who do not know which brands that create the gluten-free version, we will give you the list here:
Glutino: this manufacturer has many kinds of gluten free snack, and one of the favorites is their pretzel. The reason is because they create it with different kind of flavors so people will be able to choose according to their liking.
Snyder’s of Hanover: this manufacturer has been known to be the creator of pretzel that is so delicious which makes their pretzel popular. And the good news to all people who could not eat gluten, that they would also create their popular pretzel into the gluten free version since 2011. And you should not have to worry because the gluten free version would still taste the same as the original one.
Ener-G Foods: from this manufacturer, we could find several gluten free pretzel product in many flavors such as poppy seed, sesame seed, and many others. They are packed in small 1 oz bag or large 8 oz bag. What best from this manufacturer is that the pretzel would also fit well on your kosher food list.
Barkat: this pretzel brand comes from the Gluten Free Foods Ltd manufacturer; this is why they are guaranteed to be free from gluten. Since this brand is imported from the United Kingdom, so they would be only available when you search through several food dealers.
Kim & Scott’s Gourmet Pretzels: the company that makes this pretzel has spent two whole years to be able to create gluten free pretzel using ancient grains combinations that consist of 5 different grains. You could purchase their pretzel from their official website, or you could also try to find it in several whole food suppliers in your area.
Dutch Country Soft Pretzels: for you who prefer to have soft Pretzelsrather than the crunchy one, then you could have it from this brand. They sell their soft pretzel in two forms; the first is the pretzel mixture still in gluten free version which you could cook and make yourself at home. But if you do not want to be troubled, then they already create soft frozen pretzel so you could prepare it faster.
If you have celiac disease, then you should be careful when you eat a snack in your free time because some of them might contain gluten which would be very dangerous for you because it could make your symptom appear when you eat it. Some of the most popular snacks are tortilla chips which are very delicious to eats on its own, or when you eat it with other toppings such as cheese, cream, and guacamole. However you should be wondering are tortilla chips gluten-free, because you should not eat any tortilla chips that contain gluten.
Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free? Do Tortilla Chips Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Tortilla Chips
Usually, tortilla chips are made from an ingredient that does not contain gluten such as Masa Harina, that is a type of flour which made from corn that being dried after it has been soaked inside a lime water solution. That is why this kind of flour would be easier for you to digest than the original flour. Moreover, the lime water will also be able to improve the contained nutrient inside the corn such as Vitamin B3 that would be very useful for your body. However when the corn is not soaked, then this vitamin could not be absorbed by the body well.
The Truth about Gluten and Tortilla Chips
When you see the ingredient is made from corn, that you could easily say that tortilla chips are gluten-free. However, you would still need to be very careful since there are ways where the tortilla chips could be contaminated by gluten especially one that made commercially on the factory. But homemade tortilla chips would also have the same risk when you do not make it yourself.
Since corn is a type of grains, then this corn usually has the same treatment with another type of grain. It means the corn can be stored and processed in the same mill. This is where the problem comes from because there would be a change when the corn is stored in the same storage as wheat grain that contains gluten. There would also a change where the corn is mill with the same miller that have been used to mill wheat grain, which should be able to contaminate the corn since the grain could attach to the corn. This is why when you want to make your own tortilla chips then you need to make sure that the flour you use is not contaminated with gluten through those methods.
But that is just one of the problem that you get through the miller, however even when the miller is clean from any gluten contamination, that does not mean the tortilla chips would be gluten-free. For tortilla chips that made commercially on the factory, there would still be a contamination possibility that might happen on the factory where the tortilla chips are produced. The factory might not use dedicated plan so they might use the same machine that used to process another snack that contains gluten, then the tortilla chips made on the same machine would also be contaminated by gluten.
We all know that celiac disease people need to avoid gluten protein that comes from grains. Grains such as wheat, barley, and rye are the three main sources of gluten which will cause a bad symptom of celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity. People who suffer from celiac always struggle to find good foods that free from gluten as well as have a delicious taste. They need to find menu list or products in the market which guarantee to be gluten-free.
Is Potato Bread Gluten Free? Does Potato Bread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Bread are one of the main dishes that we always eat. There is a lot of breads available, but for celiac disease people they need to find breads that free from gluten. How about bread which made from potato flour? Is potato flour gluten-free? Since potato bread are not made from grains that contain gluten like wheat, we can say that potato bread is gluten-free. You can add potato bread to your gluten-free diet menu list.
Information about Potato Bread and Wheat Bread
Even though potato bread is gluten-free, but you still need to be careful since in the market there also potato bread that mixed with wheat flour. Wheat flour is made from one of the main grains that become the sources of gluten. That is why wheat flour definitely contains gluten. If the bread only made from potato bread without any extra gluten ingredients, then you can consume it safely if you suffer from gluten intolerance.
Potato bread compared with wheat bread has more fiber and safe protein. It may be the best option not only for a gluten-free diet but also for a regular diet. As for the nutrition and calorie between wheat bread and potato bread, they almost have the same amount of calorie and nutrition. Although, the calorie and nutrition in the potato bread are higher than wheat flour, but they have slight differences.
Always check the label and the ingredients of potato bread if you want to purchase it at bakery stores since they may add other gluten ingredients. Moreover, you can also try to bake your own potato bread; there are lots of potato bread recipes over the internet which you can choose.
Watch Out for Cross Contamination
Potato bread that made only from potato flour without any extra gluten ingredients are gluten-free, but it still can be the subject of cross contamination. For example, if you go to bakery stores, sometimes the potato bread will be placed near or side by side with wheat bread in sliced form. If you see this happen, then you should be careful because the potato bread will get gluten cross-contamination. Moreover, cross-contamination may happen if the appliances used to prepare potato flour also used to prepare wheat flour which contains gluten then, of course, the potato bread will contaminate with gluten.
If you do not sure if the bread you purchase is gluten-free, ask the bakery stores whether they made the bread in separate facilities or appliances. If you see the sliced potato bread put side by side along with other breads, then you should avoid it.
If you already on a gluten-free diet you must struggle to find what a good food that contains no gluten. Celiac disease people who sensitive to gluten need to do so since there is no cure for their disease. They need to avoid consuming foods which made from grains such as rye, wheat, and barley. Those three main grains are the main sources of gluten protein.
If you like cottage cheese and you suffer from celiac disease, then you need to know whether this food contains gluten or not. Is cottage cheese gluten-free? Foods which contain gluten typically made or derived from gluten grains ingredients that we already mentioned above and fortunately cottage cheese does not make from wheat, rye, or even barley. Therefore, you can assume that cottage cheese is gluten-free. It is safe for celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity.
Is Cottage Cheese Gluten Free? Does Cottage Cheese Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Cottage cheese is made from three ingredients such as milk, salt, and vinegar or lemon juice. Milk is the source of cheese while salt used to add a delicious taste. Last but not least is vinegar or lemon juice which used to curdle the milk. They are gluten-free and so does the vinegar if you use gluten-free vinegar. Even though most of the cottage cheese in the market are gluten-free or made from gluten-free ingredients, sometimes it also added with other extra ingredients which unpronounceable. That is why you still need to check whether the extra ingredients contain gluten or not.
Cottage Cheese can also become subject to cross-contamination. You need to watch out when this case happened. The cross contamination may happen during storing and packaging process. We do not know for sure, but you need to be careful if something like this may happen. The good news is we will give you some list of gluten-free cottage cheese products that safe to be consumed for celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity. Moreover, we also give some example of the brand that considered containing gluten protein.
List of Cottage Cheese Brands
Here several cottage cheese brands which you want to know whether gluten-free or not:
- Cabot Creamery: This brand considered to be gluten free to 20 ppm or even less than that. They also make other cheese products that contain no gluten except spreadable cheddar cheese. Moreover, they also have low fat cottage cheese which good for your diet.
- Darigold brand: This product also considered gluten free, and they do not produce any products that contain gluten which is good since you may be afraid of cross-contamination in a shared facility. They have low fat cottage cheese, full fat cottage cheese, and even flavored version of cottage cheese.
- Organic Valley: Watch out for this one brand because it is not gluten free because they use barley in their two cottage cheese products. They also did not want to be labeled as gluten-free product.
What the best is you try your own cottage cheese, it must be good and safer if you can cook your own cottage cheese.
Struggle to find the best meals which gluten-free is always facing by celiac disease people. They need to keep their body stay away from food which contains gluten because of the healthy issue. Celiac disease means your body is not immune to protein from grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. If people who suffer from this disease insist on eating gluten foods their body will react in unhealthy symptoms. Meals or ingredients like sweet potatoes, for example, need some gluten check before you eat it.
Are sweet potatoes gluten free? The sweet potato which you always consume as your delicious meal is gluten-free, but only pure sweet potatoes are safe to be eaten by celiac disease people. If you go out to some fast food restaurant and then order its sweet potato fries, you better be careful since it may become the subject of cross contamination.
More Information about Sweet Potatoes
We can say for sure that sweet potato is free from gluten and even some expert suggests celiac disease people to choose potato starch and potato flour as wheat flour and starch alternative. Wheat is one of the main sources of gluten; the rests are barley and rye. That is why flour made from these grains will contain gluten, and so does any ingredients derived from the grains. Moreover, regular potato and yams also gluten-free and safe to be consumed by celiac disease people.
Are Sweet Potatoes Gluten Free? Do Sweet Potatoes Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Regular potatoes and sweet potatoes contain nutrients which useful for your body. They contain mineral and vitamins which become nutrition for celiac disease people. Moreover, potato has high fiber which is good for digestive system. If you do some gluten-free diet, then eat boiled regular potato or sweet potato as your meal is good and you will not feel starving so quickly because of its carbohydrate. Not only for a gluten-free diet, but regular diet also suggested consuming potatoes because of its dietary fiber.
Gluten & Cross Contamination of Sweet Potatoes
Actually what we will mention about gluten cross-contamination is not only happen in sweet potatoes but also for regular potatoes. They may become the subject when you order some potato fries in a restaurant. Usually, the chef in fast food restaurant will use the same oil which already been used to cook other gluten foods for the potatoes fries. This is why you need to be careful when eating outside.
You also need to be careful when preparing your sweet potatoes at home. Make sure that you use clean appliances free from gluten. Do not forget to store the potatoes far away from any gluten products, foods, and ingredients.
Pure potatoes do not have gluten problems but not for potatoes with extra ingredients. Sometimes you will see that potatoes breaded with gluten flour, and there also potatoes skins which seasoned with extra gluten ingredients such as sauce and gravy. To make sure that your potato is free from gluten, you can purchase potato snacks with gluten-free labeled. There are many potato snacks in market labeled in gluten-free which you can find.
When you eat lentils you should be saying that it is gluten free because it is a type of bean right? No, that is so wrong, lentil is one type of bean, but is lentils gluten free or not could not be seen by simply saying it is bean then it is gluten free. We need to be careful because when it is naturally gluten free, but it could also get contaminated from somewhere else. And that contamination would make the lentils which naturally gluten free becomes not gluten free anymore.
Are Lentils Gluten Free? Do Lentils have gluten in it or not?
You should know that the contamination happened to the lentils is happened as fast as when they grow in the farm field. The reason is because lentils are often used in rotation to the grains crops that contain gluten. This means after they plant grains crops which contain gluten and harvest it then they would use the same land to plant lentils. Next they would also harvest lentils with the same tools that they used to harvest grain crops that contain gluten. Then to make it even worse they also store the lentils in the same warehouse with other grain crops that contain gluten. When these kinds of treatments are happening to lentils, then we could say that now it is not gluten free anymore.
How to Avoid Getting Lentils That Contain Gluten
You should know that it is actually very difficult for us to really avoid getting lentils that contain gluten. The reason is because they all usually have the same kind of treatment that we mention above. Fortunately, there are some manufacturers that willing to call out contamination warning on the label of their packaged product, so we could make used of it to be able to avoid getting lentils that contain gluten.
However, the contamination warning on the label of their packaged product is purely voluntary statement which means that they are not obligate to call out such statement. This is why it would be very hard to know really which lentils that contain gluten or not. This is why you may often find a barley kernel inside the package of lentils you purchase. Which means that the lentils you purchase has been contaminated by the barley.
To be able to avoid completely getting lentils that contain gluten, you have to find lentils that have free gluten label. This means the lentils is processed in a special way so there would be no contamination even when they are planted because they are not planted in rotation with other grain crops that contain gluten. They would also harvest lentils in special tools that only used for a product that does not contain gluten at all. Then they would be stored in the warehouse that separated from other grains until they are packaged using a special machine which does not use to package other items that may contains gluten.
Who does not love this delicious and creamy treat, but on some with celiac disease then they would cautious is ice cream gluten free? You should know that in most cases ice cream is gluten-free; however, you still need to be cautious especially when you are sensitive even to the small amount of gluten inside. This is why when you go to any ice cream parlor or café; you need to ask for their ingredient, the reason is that there are some parlors or café which used flour to thicken their ice cream. That flour obviously contains gluten since it is made from wheat. Usually the flour would only be around 1 or 2 tablespoons, however, still it is one big no to us who has celiac disease. However not all ice cream used the same recipe so you could be still able to find some gluten-free version.
IsIce Cream Gluten Free? Does Ice Cream Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Avoiding Gluten Ice Cream
When you want to eat any ice cream, you surely need to choose the flavor and topping which does not contain any gluten. First, you need to choose flavors such as chocolate, strawberry, and vanilla which does not contain any gluten. However, you could not choose Oreo topping since it contains wheat flour that makes the biscuit contains gluten.
And you should be cautious since there are ways that make the ice cream be contaminated by other flavors or toppings that contain gluten. First, in the making of the ice cream, they might use the same machine for a different kind of flavor. Another thing you might notice that the employee use the same ice cream scoop to take different kind of ice cream flavor. They also place the toppings next to each other so the crumbs could contaminate other toppings. This will makes the flavor and topping mixed and contaminate other ice cream flavor which should not contain any gluten. This is why when you want to purchase any ice cream, and then you should try to see how they serve it and ask the making procedure that they use.
A brand that Serves Gluten Free Ice Cream
It is actually safer when you purchase from a brand that says they are gluten-free which means that they have been tested and pass the gluten-free standard. Some of those products are:
- Breyer’s Ice Cream: this brand is very popular ice cream brand, and now they have made 36 flavors of their ice cream to be gluten-free. They have tested their product and pass the gluten-free standard.
- Dove Ice Cream: this ice cream brand has most gluten-free flavors which you could enjoy. But be sure to avoid their fudge brownies flavor which obviously contains gluten inside.
- Dreyer’s Ice Cream: this ice cream brand lists their gluten-free ingredient on their website. That is why you need to search on their website to see the ice cream you want to purchase is gluten-free.
- Häagen-Dazs: this ice cream brand stated that their pure ice cream does not contain any gluten since the gluten only available in their topping.
Celiac disease people or gluten intolerance can add plain yogurt to their gluten-free diet menu list since yogurt is gluten-free. How about Greek yogurt? Is Greek yogurt gluten free? Just like any type of plain yogurt, Greek yogurt is also gluten-free. Yogurt is made from milk and through fermentation process it becomes thickens with some tangy taste but delicious. Since yogurt do not made from grains such as wheat, rye, and barley then you can say that yogurt as well as Greek yogurt is considered to be safe for celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity.
Is Greek Yogurt Gluten Free? Does Greek Yogurt Have Gluten In It Or Not?
But there also some yogurt added with extra gluten ingredients which you need to avoid. Usually, the company likes to add extra additives to create more delicious taste and flavors. This extra additive can derive from the grains which become the source of gluten protein. Therefore, you need to read and check the label plus the ingredient list whether the yogurt and Greek yogurt added with these kinds of gluten ingredients. So, your best option is chosen only plain, and pure Greek Yogurt made from whole milk.
First Option: Pure and Plain Whole Milk Greek Yogurt
Pure and plain whole milk Greed yogurt certainly is gluten free because it made from little ingredients. The main ingredient is whole milk, but sometimes it will be listed in the different longer name like cultured whole milk. This whole milk will change into yogurt and change again into Greek yogurt after the whey removed. This Greek yogurt which only contains cultured whole milk is gluten-free, but you still need to be careful since if the company processed it with the shared facility with another gluten yogurt, then you should avoid it. Call the company customer service to ask whether the Greek yogurt product is made in the separate facility. If you want to be assured, then you can purchase Greek yogurt labeled with gluten free.
Second Option: Low-fat Greek Yogurt
There is another type of Greek yogurt called low-fat Greek yogurt. Most of the low-fat Greek yogurt made from whole milk but there also certain low-fat Greek yogurt added with additives to make the product thicker or stabilize it. When the low-fat Greek yogurt added with these kinds of additives then usually it will be labeled with different name namely Greek Style Yogurt.
Greek Style Yogurt may contain extra additives such as whey protein and milk protein concentrate, gelatin, cornstarch, and pectin. Surely you need to check the manufacturer if you want to purchase Greek Style Yogurt because it may have gluten additives.
Third Option: Greek Yogurt with Flavors
Of course, there is also Greek yogurt that gluten-free, but if you check the label, and then you find extra additives ingredients such as thickeners, nuts, granola, flavoring, colors, and much more, then you should be careful since they may derive from gluten grains. Instead, purchase flavoring Greek yogurt in the market why do not you add your own gluten-free flavors in plain Greek yogurt? It becomes safer for gluten intolerance people.
Are Nuts Gluten Free?Do you suffer from celiac disease? If yes then you need to avoid foods or meals that contain gluten since it may give you some bad effect. But for you who need to avoid gluten, sometime it’s hard for us to find gluten-free foods in a restaurant, fast food meals, or food products on the market. We hope we can get list food, meals, or ingredients that free from this gluten.
How about nuts? Are nuts Gluten Free? Are there any nuts that not free from gluten? The answer is pure nuts are gluten free and so does any types of nuts such as almond, walnuts, pistachios, peanuts, and any other nuts. Moreover, sunflower and sesame seeds also gluten free and save for celiac disease people to eat. But please be aware with nuts that have been added flavor since it might contain gluten ingredients. There are lots of flavor nuts in the market that contain gluten since the factory use the wheat ingredient to add the taste. This is the reason for you who not sure whether the nuts you purchased at the stores are gluten free or not You have to check the label and the ingredient list. It is safe to buy nuts which certified with gluten free label.
Are Nuts Gluten Free? Do Nuts Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Nuts and Extra Ingredients
If you make a dish from roasted or raw nuts, then your dish is safe for celiac disease people. But, never try to use nuts which have extra additives such as maltodextrins or thickening and other flavor ingredients from grains like barley, rye, and wheat; since that are the main sources of gluten protein.
You can use nuts as a wheat flour alternative in your foods. Nuts such as chestnuts, almonds, and hazelnuts are good ingredients for your gluten free recipes. Nuts also contain a lot of nutrients which really good for gluten free diet and any regular diet.
Beware of Cross Contamination on Nuts
Just like any other gluten-free ingredients, nuts also can become a subject of cross contamination. This cross contamination even can happen during processing facility. For example, the machine to process and prepare the nuts is also used to process or prepare other gluten grains such as wheat, rye, and barley. There are a lot of farms do that because of efficiency.
You can try to call the farm or the factory about this problem. You need to know whether they use shared facility or equipment with wheat. Some farms or companies may be kind to you by share information about their process production. They will tell you whether they use shared facility or not and whether they use a procedure that will prevent gluten cross contamination on their products.