When you are not tolerant to gluten, you should be very careful when eating anything. It is caused you need to make sure that all the things you eat is free from gluten. However, you are continually exposed to the food that you do not know their ingredient such as oats. That is why you should wonder are oats gluten free? You should know that the protein available inside the oats are actually different from the protein that available inside the wheat, rye, or barley. This is why it is actually safe for you to consume the oats. However, there are some people who have an autoimmune response to the grains so your doctor might suggest you to not eating it.
Are Oats Gluten Free? Do Oats have gluten in it or not?
The question about the oats that might contain gluten exist because there are some oats that contaminated by wheat grains. The reason why the wheat could contaminate the oats is because they are often planted in close farmland next to each other. Furthermore, they would also use the same elevator to bring the grain from the farm, they even used the same miller and containers to process both harvests. That is why the contamination happened on the process so the oats would not be pure anymore.
However in our modern time, more and more people are becoming aware of this situation and demand for a change. That is why some farmer has decided to separate the farmland of both harvests for further distance so they would not mix. They also use a separated elevator, miller and containers to process the oats. With this they could keep the quality of the oats, thus makes it pure from any contaminator. When the oats are in a pure condition like that, then we could say the oats are gluten free.
Finding pure oats without gluten
Even with a new method you should be very careful when you purchase any oats product to make sure that you get the pure oats that do not contaminated by any other grains. There are a few things that you need to do in order to find it such as:
- Search pure oats brands: there are actually many brands that specialize in providing pure oats such as Bob’s Red Mill, GF Harvest, Glutenfreeda Foods, Holly’s Oatmeal, Montana Gluten-Free, and many others.
- Read the label: even if those brands are known to provide pure oats you should read the label very carefully because some of their products also contains gluten. Find the label that stated gluten free product.
- Search the website: when you not sure whether the product really pure or not, you could search on the website because some of them are usually informed about it in their official website. For example, Quaker Oats has informed us in their website that they could not guarantee if their product is pure or not. That way we could say that they might not do any necessary things to separate the process of their oats with the other grains so it might be possible that there is some contamination in their product.
Whenever we eat salad or another vegetable, we surely find some dressing to make it even better. This habit has been done by many American since dressing is the only way to make the salad tastier, and one of the most popular dressings that they use is ranch dressing. This dressing is early introduced by Hidden Valley Company which makes the original version since they are the one who creates the ranch dressing. That is why the most original ingredient would also be found on this brand.
Is Ranch Dressing Gluten Free? Does Ranch Dressing Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information about Ranch Dressing and Gluten
According to the Hidden Valley Company, they only use garlic, salt, buttermilk, herb, and onion to create the ranch dressing. When we see the ingredient, then we could see that they made dressing without any ingredient that contains gluten. That is why we could say that ranch dressing is gluten-free. Moreover, the Hidden Valley Company has also stated that most of their product does not contain gluten. So you would not have to worry if there would be anything inside the ranch dressing.
Moreover, the Hidden Valley Company has also said that if they use any type of grain that might contain gluten they would clearly write it on the package, that is why when you still not sure with the ingredient, then you should try to check the package of ranch dressing that you want to purchase. Actually it is very easy to find ranch dressing that is gluten-free; all you need to do is to search for the gluten-free label because the Hidden Valley Company has said that they will test their product so they could use the gluten-free label on their packaging.
However Hidden Valley Company still in the process of testing their product so not all products will have a gluten-free label when that thing happened, then all you need to do is to see whether their ingredient have something that might contain gluten. When they do not have anything that contains gluten, then we could say that they are a gluten-free product. However when it is still not enough for you, then you could try to contact them directly so you would know for sure whether the product you want to purchase is gluten-free.
But what you should be cautious is the ranch dressing that has contained flavor, that means the ranch dressing is mix with another ingredient to make the dressing to taste better. For this kind of ranch dressing, there would be bigger possibility of the ranch dressing would contain an ingredient that has gluten in it. That is why saying again it is very significant for you to check and double check the package of ranch dressing that you want to purchase.
Other ranch dressing that made by other company such as Kraft will also disclose their entire ingredient including anything that might contain gluten inside because they have a very tight policy regarding this thing. That is why you might be also able to find ranch dressing product that is gluten free from this brand.
Drinking coffee in the morning can make you more relaxed to start a new day and go to your work; it is also good to remove the drowsiness. However, if you in gluten-free diet program then it is really safe to consume coffee? Is coffee gluten free?
Is Coffee Gluten Free? Does Coffee Have Gluten In It Or Not?
For celiac disease people to consume drinks that contain gluten are prohibited. If they insist, then the body will react badly because of the gluten, and it can cause unhealthy problems. How about coffee? We cannot find an exact answer. Plain coffee may gluten-free to the low level of gluten. But there are several cases that celiac disease people reported when they drink coffee they get gastrointestinal symptoms. This case maybe happens because coffee contains caffeine which hard for your digestive system and not because they have gluten protein. Some people who just diagnosed if they get the celiac disease may react badly to caffeine since your digestive system still in some irritation. Therefore, plain coffee without any extra ingredients is gluten-free while flavored coffee may contain gluten.
Coffee which You can Consume if You Have Celiac Disease Problem
Plain coffee is safe to consume for celiac disease people. Coffee is made from coffee beans and beans are not grains which become one of the main sources of gluten protein. The exception is when the coffee added with extra ingredients to add flavor or maybe come into contact with gluten foods.
Freshly brewed coffee is safe to consume in the morning for gluten intolerance people. If you like specific coffee such as mocha, then it is also safe to drink. Mocha contains coffee and Coffee from cocoa. Therefore they are not derived from grains. You can also add extra ingredients as sweeteners like sugar and maple.
When you are going out to get your favorite coffee make sure that you ask the barista what the ingredients they use to make the coffee you ordered. You need to be careful since there is a lot of flavored coffee contains gluten ingredients. For example, malt flavored coffee which derived from barley will contain gluten, and it is not good for your body. Moreover, you need to pay attention with the creamer on coffee. If you like add some creamer; it is better to choose plain milk or plain cream. Some cream or milk may add with barley or wheat malt, and they will contaminate with gluten. The same case also happens with instant coffee when the coffee processed with wheat just because the produces need to add bulk to it.
Maybe you find it difficult to differentiate foods with gluten and foods which do not contain gluten. What you need to do is be familiar when those foods and always check the label or the packages when you want to purchase foods, instant drinks, or any ingredients. Never be ashamed if you need to ask the chef or even the barista since you are not alone. Just prepare yourself for your gluten-free diet program and always try to be creative with the foods you cook.
Some of you might love cheese so much you eat it every day with many kinds of variation and form which includes cream cheese form. This salty but sweet taste of cream cheese is very delicious so that you could use it as a dip for your chips, spread over the salad, and many others. However when you have celiac disease so you could not eat anything that contains gluten then you must know is cream cheese gluten free or not because you could not eat it when it contain even a little bit of gluten since it could make you sick.
Is Cream Cheese Gluten Free? Does Cream Cheese Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Information About Cream Cheese That Contains Gluten Or Not
If you want to know whether the cream cheese that you eat contains gluten or not, then you should know more information about it. The cream cheese is made of course from the main ingredient of milk and stabilizer which used to keep the milk in the cream form. When we see this ingredient, then you could say that cream cheese is gluten-free for most of it. However, it does not mean you should not be careful about it.
First, you should see which cheese that used to create the cream cheese; usually most manufacturer will only use ordinary cheese so you should be fine when you consume it. However, if you find a cream cheese that is made from bleu cheese, then it would not be gluten-free anymore because they use wheat in the ingredient of the cheese. Another variation of cheese that you should watch out is the beer washed cheese because this cheese contains beer that is not gluten-free.
How To Make Sure That Cream Cheese Is Gluten Free Or Not
Now let us see further so you could make sure that the cream cheese you eat is really gluten-free. First, of course, you should see the ingredient that we mention above. However, the most important thing that you should search is the gluten-free label which will show that the product is really gluten free since that is already able to pass the gluten-free standard.
However, you should also be very careful when you purchase the cream cheese which is repackaged on the store. Even though it is not common but some store might purchase their cream cheese in bulk so they could get a cheaper price for it. Then when they already arrived at the store, it would be repackaged into a small package to sell in retail. When that happened, there would be a possibility that they could not repackage it safely so there would be gluten contamination inside it. That is why the best way that you could purchase your cream cheese is to purchase one that has been packaged by the manufacturer so there would not be any contamination. However, there are still contamination possibilities on the manufacturer side so you should find out whether this manufacturer also produce any other product that contains gluten to avoid any other contaminants
For some of you that have celiac disease, it might be too difficult to remember all ingredients that you need to pay attention whether it contains gluten or not, especially when the ingredient has a difficult name such as maltodextrin. You might not even know what it is really about, then surely you would not know is maltodextrin gluten free or not. Actually, maltodextrin is a common ingredient that used in many kinds of food as the sweetening agent. No, it is not malt so you should not get mixed with it even though it has a similar name.
Is Maltodextrin Gluten Free? Does Maltodextrin Have Gluten In It Or Not?
What Is Maltodextrin And Whether It Contains Gluten Or Not?
Maltodextrin is actually made from starch to take the sweet enzyme inside the starch. There is not specific starch where it could be made because they could be taken from any kinds of starch available, and each country might use different kind of starch depends on the availability of the starch itself. And this is the problem on this maltodextrin because when the starch that used to make this ingredient is actually gluten-free, then we could say that the maltodextrin made is gluten free. However when it comes from starch that is not gluten free, then the maltodextrin produced is not gluten-free anymore.
There are actually many kinds of starch used to make the maltodextrin, for example in European country the starch used to make this ingredient comes from wheat starch because wheat is largely produced there, so there are plenty of wheat available for the production of maltodextrin. However in American Country, the starch used to made maltodextrin comes from cornstarch, and because corn is a gluten-free ingredient, then we could say that the maltodextrin produced would also be gluten-free.
How To Find Maltodextrin That Is Gluten Free
Since we know that maltodextrin could be made from many kinds of starch, then we could also say that you should be very careful when purchasing anything that contains maltodextrin inside the ingredient. The most important thing is to search for the gluten-free label since with it you could be sure that the maltodextrin is produced using gluten-free starch. However, you should be very careful when purchasing a product that is imported directly from Europe since they usually used wheat starch to make the maltodextrin. That is why the again looking gluten-free label is very important when you want to purchase anything, but you should not worry too much since usually, they would show wheat starch as the ingredient of the maltodextrin on the package of the product.
As people with celiac disease, it is very important for you to research anything that contains inside the food you want to eat, especially when the food is made on the factory if we do not know what is inside the ingredient then if we could get bigger possibility of eating anything that contains gluten inside. Even when the ingredient words used are not familiar such as maltodextrin, then you should search more information about it.
It is not weird if celiac disease people often need to check label and ingredients on their product packages in the market. They do it because they do not want to buy wrong products which have gluten protein in it. Unfortunately, often people will get confused if they read unfamiliar ingredient on those packages. When they do, then they will be afraid to purchase the products because of they are afraid that the unfamiliar ingredients derived or made from gluten grains like wheat.
Is Dextrose Gluten Free? Does Dextrose Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Rye, wheat, and barley are the three main grains that become the source of gluten protein which the celiac disease people afraid to have in their foods. Since there is no cure for celiac disease or gluten sensitivity people who suffer from it need to do gluten-free diet program by avoiding any foods or products which made those grains. There is a lot of products and foods labeled with gluten free, but still, every post about celiac and gluten often suggest us to check the ingredients list.
One of the unfamiliar ingredients which you may ever hear is dextrose. What is dextrose? Is dextrose gluten free? First of all, dextrose is sugar, and it is often used for syrup ingredients and baked foods. Dextrose may contain gluten and may not contain gluten as well. Why said so? Because dextrose can be derived from gluten-free ingredients such as corn, but it also made from wheat, and we know that wheat is included in three main grains of gluten sources that we already mentioned above.
Information about Gluten and Dextrose
There is some opinion or statement that even though dextrose is derived from wheat, it can be gluten free enough that celiac disease people can still consume a product with dextrose in it. Why? Because dextrose processed with high hydrolyzation which can remove the gluten protein in wheat and the final product will be gluten-free. It means that celiac disease people can still enjoy food or syrup with dextrose in it.
You can see that this statement may true, but you still need to watch out for dextrose ingredient because not all dextrose will be produced with processed that can remove gluten. If you find this case, do not worry because most of the products which not processed dextrose to the point the gluten is removed will disclose information about wheat in it. Therefore, you do not need to buy the products. Moreover, if the company processed this ingredient until gluten removed then surely they will disclose the information too, and it will perfect if they also give a gluten-free label.
Dextrose which processed with high hydrolyzation may be safe for celiac disease. But, sometimes people who have a high gluten sensitivity may want to avoid it because you cannot be sure whether the gluten is removed one hundred percent. It may leave some trace, and even though it is just a bit, high gluten sensitivity people still will react. Therefore, you may want to purchase products with dextrose that made from corn, rice, potato, and tapioca. Because all of these ingredients appear to be gluten-free.
For you who are on gluten-free diets, you surely ask is barley gluten free? Barley is a grain plant that considers as cereal grain; most people will consume the grain and named it as the barley itself. But you should know that barley grain is actually one of the sources of gluten that you should avoid when you want to be free from gluten. That is why we could say that barley is not gluten-free.
Is Barley Gluten Free? Does Barley Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Because of the protein inside the grain then most people will consume the grains that contain hordein; which is the protein that you should avoid when you have celiac disease. That is why we could say that most food that consists of barley as their ingredient is not gluten-free. You could also find some flour that made from barley grain so you should be careful. There are also pearls made from barley which used in soup.
You will also have to avoid from drinking beer since most beer is made from barley. Another form of barley in food could be found as malt which is made from the barley grain that is germinated then dried to get the malt. We could find it at many kinds of food such as malt milk, malt candy, and many others. Another use of barley is as sweetener especially one that comes from factory processed food such as cereal or corn flakes, candy bars, crispy rice, and many others.
The Use Of Gluten Free Label On Food That Contains Barley
However when you consume the grass that has not mature yet so it would not have the grain, then it could be considered as gluten-free food, but this fact is still debated over the years. This is why the expert will suggest that you consume the food which contains barley with caution. There is also some food that contain this barley grass but still labeled as gluten-free food, so when you still not sure about it, then you should be very careful.
Our food labeling law is also not making it easy since they do not require the factory to disclosed barley as their food ingredient. This would be especially harder when the food only contains the derivative substance of barley such as malt. That is why they would not write barley as a part of their ingredient and would only write naturally flavored as their disclosed ingredient. Although there are also some manufacturers that care enough to write barley malt as their natural flavorings ingredient.
On the gluten-free label, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration said that the food which contains only the barley grass would be still able to use the gluten-free label on their product. But they would need to test the product to make sure that the finished goods will only contain gluten for less than 20 parts per million of gluten. With so many labeling options on barley product, it is your own caution that should search and read the label as carefully as possible.
Celiac disease people need to maintain their gluten-free diet well by avoids foods that contain gluten. Of course, it is not easy because they need to list different meals which have no gluten in it at all. Some people struggle to find meals that match well with their diet; they are afraid that they will consume gluten accidentally.
Is Polenta Gluten Free? Does Polenta Have Gluten In It Or Not?
What about polenta? Is polenta gluten free? As people who suffer from gluten sensitivity, we need to know for sure whether our meal is gluten-free or not like polenta. To answer this question, we need to know more about this food. Therefore, let’s take a closer look.
Polenta and Gluten Information
What is polenta? Polenta has another name that is corn porridge or cornmeal. Polenta does not make from grains that contain gluten like rye, wheat, and barley. Those three grains are the sources of gluten protein which you need to avoid if you suffer from celiac. Since polenta does not make from these three grains, then we can say or conclude that polenta is gluten-free. Celiac disease people can enjoy their meal with delicious polenta.
Polenta is gluten-free and right for your gluten-free menu list diet. Many restaurants served polenta as an alternative for those who can eat wheat grains and for vegetarian. Although sometimes people say that the taste of polenta is too bland and boring, but with a little creativity in the kitchen you can make delicious polenta according to your taste added with extra special ingredients that gluten-free.
Watch Out for Cross Contamination in Polenta
Just like any other gluten-free ingredient and food, unfortunately, polenta can also become a subject of cross contamination. This cross-contamination might happen during processing, and even when you prepare the polenta in the shared kitchen. For example, if the polenta handled in a shared facility with grains such as wheat, barley, and rye, then the possibility of cross-contamination will be higher.
Polenta cross contamination also can happen during polenta preparation in the shared kitchen, whether your own kitchen or in the restaurant. For example, if you use the same appliance which already touched with gluten ingredients before and use it again to cook the polenta, then it will get gluten cross-contamination. If you prepare polenta in your own shared kitchen you may can avoid the cross contamination by telling your family. How if you order polenta in a restaurant? Surely, you cannot see directly what happening in the kitchen when the chef prepares your order, right? That is why; you need to ask the chef whether he or she prepare the polenta with appliances that already touched with gluten food or whether polenta has extra gluten ingredients to add some taste.
Check Your Polenta Labels
Always be careful when purchasing your polenta package. Check whether the polenta package has some label like “processed in a shared facility with rye, barley, and wheat.” Moreover, if you want to assure yourself that the polenta which you buy is gluten-free then only purchase polenta with gluten-free label on it.
What is everyone favorite snack whenever they gather or doing party? The answer would be corn chips since this snack is light and crunchy so everyone loves to eat it especially when dipped inside delicious sauce. But when you have celiac disease you could not just take in any corn chips without really knowing what is inside these chips. You should already know are corn chips gluten free or not before you even try it. Furthermore the corn chips also made in the form of tortilla chips which makes it even more difficult to know more about these chips.
Are Corn Chips Gluten Free? Do Corn Chips have gluten in it or not?
Information about Corn Chips
These chips are mainly made from cornmeal which season with salt, seeing this ingredient we could then say that corn chips are gluten free. However you still could not eat every corn chip that you find because there are other threat that may comes inside them. The thread comes from the cross contamination that happened in the making process of corn chips. Some manufacturer of corn chips might also create other chips that may contain gluten inside because they are made from wheat flour. Then they may also use the same machine that they use to create those other chips to create your corn chips which would eventually contaminate it because of the trace of gluten inside the machine.
Brands that Provide Gluten-Free Corn Chips
That is why it is important to know which corn chips are safe to eat and which are not safe. Knowing which brand that could be trusted, to give you to the best corn chips that you could eat is also important because it is completely free from gluten.
Fritos Corn Chips: This brand creates gluten-free corn chips in different flavor, not only original which season with salt, but you could also find lightly salted version which would be suitable when you also done low sodium diet. They also made the corn chips from many kinds of corn variation such as blue corn and yellow corn. Their product has been tested to gain standard of 20 parts per million of gluten standard, so unless you are very sensitive to gluten, then eating this corn chips brand would be alright.
Xochitl Corn Chips: This brand has unique corn chips which is made from stone ground chips to make it thinner. It is also made using all natural ingredients which make it healthier since they do not use any preservatives inside their ingredient. They even made organic version of their chips which is made from blue corn. Using many kinds of flavor such as Mexican style will make the corn chips taste better because of unique seasoning.
Food Should Taste Good tortilla chips: This is a tortilla variation, this brand provides the best one since they have gluten free label because they have been able to pass test for less than 10 parts per million gluten. This is why for you who are sensitive to gluten, you could still eat the chips from this brand without worry.
Everyone loves eating candy; however people with celiac disease should always be very careful in anything they eat. But does that mean people with celiac disease should not eat candies at all? There should not be the case as long as you choose what kind of candies that you eat so you could choose candies that are gluten free. Are Reeses gluten free or not? You might already know that the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups is made from chocolate and peanut butter inside it. When we see this ingredient for Reeses Peanut Butter Cups, then we could say that it is gluten free.
Are Reeses Gluten Free? Do Reeses Have Gluten In It Or Not
The danger of gluten inside the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups
Even though the pure Reeses Peanut Butter Cups are indeed gluten free, but you still need to pay attention to the filling that used on the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups. Not all filling used are gluten free, especially on seasonal items that produced with a special filling. That is why we could say that original versions of Reeses Peanut Butter Cups are gluten free, but some of the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups product which issued in special occasion is not gluten free. But you should not have to worry since The Hershey Company has stated that they will disclose all ingredient on the package of Reeses Peanut Butter Cups especially when they contain anything that involved gluten inside. This is why it is still important for you to really read the ingredient on the package of Reeses Peanut Butter Cups variation that you want to purchase to make sure that they do not contain any ingredient with gluten contamination inside.
Cross contamination inside the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups
We all know that The Hershey Company is made a lot of things that might contain gluten inside their factory. This is why some of you might be worried about the danger of cross contamination inside their factory especially when they made the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups using other machined that have been used to make other candies that contain gluten. Regarding to this problem The Hershey Company has already answered the issue by listing all products that free from any gluten not only from the ingredient but also from the making process. And be happy since Reeses is considered as one of the candies that are free from any cross contamination possibilities.
And if there would be any possibility of cross contamination on Reeses Peanut Butter Cups the company would be glad to call out for it on the package of the Reeses Peanut Butter Cups product. This is why it is still important for you to check the package of Reeses Peanut Butter Cups you want to by searching the package whether they have warned about the possibility of gluten inside it. This should already be a habit for you to search gluten-free label and ask whether the version of the product you want to buy is indeed the gluten free version or not.