For people who suffer from celiac disease, they need to avoid foods that contain gluten. What is gluten? Gluten is a protein which can be found in grains or wheat. If people who suffer from Celiac disease eat foods that contain this protein, then they will have some healthy problem symptoms such as fatigue, diarrhea, and anemia. To prevent these healthy problems, they need to do gluten-free diet by choose foods that do not contain gluten. The problem is to find food which gluten-free is quite difficult especially for countries that the main food is rice and wheat.
Is Buckwheat Gluten Free? Does Buckwheat Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Is buckwheat gluten free? Buckwheat or other people know as Kasha is not wheat. Despite its name contains “wheat”, it actually a fruit from a plan called Fagopyrum Esculentum.So the answer is yes. Although buckwheat is not wheat or grain but sometimes people referred it as a pseudocereal. Before buckwheat can be cooked into food, it should be dehulled for the first, and the groats which obtained from remaining seeds can be processed into flour. This roasted groats called Kasha.
For celiac disease people, you can add this buckwheat or kasha into your gluten-free diet menu. Buckwheat contains vitamin B and protein which very good not only for a gluten-free diet but also for fiber diet. Moreover, buckwheat can lower your cholesterol level and high blood pressure. People who have diabetes type II can enjoy this food since it helps to relieve the pain from diabetes symptoms.
Process Your Buckwheat Into Delicious Food
There are some different characteristic between raw buckwheat groats and Kasha. You can tell the characteristic from its color and aroma. First, raw buckwheat groats do not have aroma at all while Kasha has a strong aroma. Second, raw buckwheat groats have green or light brown colors while Kasha has a darker color like the reddish brown color.
To make buckwheat foods you can use buckwheat flour for your pancake, cake, cookies, crackers, and other gluten-free diet menus. You can cook chocolate cookies with buckwheat flour. If you want to process your buckwheat into chocolate cookies, then you can grind it with almond to make “flour.”
You need to be creative when processes your buckwheat foods since buckwheat can become a good binding agent plus become very gelatinous when you soak it. For example, you can make delicious buckwheat chips by soak it, rinse it, and then dry it. The chips taste must be very crunchy as your side dish.
So after you read our information, we hope that you can add buckwheat in your gluten-free menu along with Buckwheat, cornstarch, cornmeal, arrowroot, and millet. They are proving that when you suffer from Celiac disease, it does not mean you can only eat the same old and boring wheat alternative for your main dish or side dish. In fact, be more creative and create your own recipes for gluten-free diet menus and somehow you can become the inspiration for other Celiac disease people when they need to deal with the foods for gluten-free diet.
Who does not love to eat M&Ms, everyone surely likes to eat lots of it. However when you have a celiac disease, then you should always be very careful with anything you eat. And that also includes the candy you want to eat; this is why we should know M&Ms gluten free or not because you need to avoid it when it does contain gluten that could make you sick. To know more about these candies, we should know more information about the candies itself and the Mars Company that creates the candies.
Are M&Ms Gluten Free? Do M&Ms Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Mars Answer About Gluten Inside M&Ms
This candy is made in the form of a shell which surrounds many kinds of filling that depends on the varieties of each candy. And this is the problem on gluten inside M&Ms comes from, because even if the candy shell is gluten free, but when the filling inside the M&Ms is not gluten free, then it made the whole candy not gluten free anymore. That is why we need to review the entire flavor one by one to know more about it.
Flavor Inside The M&Ms That Does Not Gluten Free
For the plain varieties, the filling would be chocolate milk. For this flavor, they use milk and chocolate ingredient; then we could say that this flavor is gluten free. Next is the peanut butter varieties that of course filled with peanut butter that created by peanut that grated soft into butter form. For this flavor, we could say that it is gluten free since it does not use another flavor that becomes everyone favorite is dark chocolate which made from chocolate and sugar without any milk. For this M&Ms flavor, it is also gluten free since there is no other gluten ingredient inside it.
Next is the pretzel flavor M&Ms, well we do not need to talk too much about it because you already know that pretzel contains wheat flour thus it contains gluten. That is why we could say that this flavor is not gluten free. The same thing goes for carrot cake that the cake surely contains wheat flour thus it also contains gluten. Then this flavor also not gluten free. When we see a few examples that we have given to you here, we could say that you must know which variety of M&Ms that gluten free or not from the ingredient that used to fill it.
How To Choose Gluten Free M&Ms Flavor?
We could say that most M&Ms flavors are gluten free. However, you still need to check the ingredient that used inside it. Another thing that you need to be careful is that you should watch out if there is a cross contamination for each flavor of M&Ms candies since they might use the same machine to produce M&Ms flavor that is not gluten free on the same machine that produce M&Ms flavor which contains gluten. But you should not have to worry since the Mars Company already said that they will state if there is contamination possibility in the flavor that they produce.
Corn tortillas are our favorites snack while watching our favorite television series or to shared during gathering. But when you feel allergic to certain foods that contain gluten, you should ask are corn tortillas gluten free? When you see the main ingredient of corn tortillas which makes from corn grain that do not contain any gluten at all, then we could say that pure corn tortillas would be gluten free. However, there are times when this gluten free food will change to food that contain gluten when there are some contaminations on the process.
Are Corn Tortillas Gluten Free? Do Corn Tortillas have gluten in it or not?
Corn Tortillas Contamination Process
There are many ways that corn tortillas could be contaminate on the way. First is the factory or place that they used to process the corn tortillas could be the one that bring contamination. The reason is because they might use the same machine which used to produce other foods that contain gluten. They may also store the corn inside the same warehouse with other ingredient that contains gluten. These are things that could turn your corn tortillas to one that contain gluten.
To be able to avoid these things you need to make sure that the corn tortillas you want to buy have gluten-free label which means that they are free from other gluten material in the making process. Some of the brand which have gluten free label are:
Frito Lay tortilla chips: This brand provides gluten-free corn tortillas and corn chips which come from brand such as yellow corn chips, Frito’s Original Corn Chips, blue corn chips, Frito’s Scoops Corn Chips, and Santitas corn chips. But we suggest that you should be very careful when you have high sensitivity on gluten because some with high sensitivity may be able to feel gluten below 20 parts per million that may available inside their chips.
Food Should Taste Good tortilla chips: this brand also provides corn tortillas with many kinds of delicious flavor that you should try. They also have gluten-free label on their product. Gluten-free label means that the gluten quantity should be on 10 parts per million which is lower than the gluten free standard so it would be good for you who does not have high sensitivity.
Way Better tortilla chips: this brand also has nutritious corn tortillas in dedicated machinery which specially used to create food that are gluten free. They also have a high standard for their products which only contain low gluten for 10 parts per million.
You should be very careful when purchasing other corn tortillas brand even some products do not say they contain gluten. Because when some product does not say that they are gluten-free, there are some possibilities that something will contaminate it. So, please be more carefully when eating corn tortillas. Choose a product that has gluten-free label!
Everyone surely needs to eat candies every once in a while; even when you are doing a tight diet, you might try to cheat on it with a wrap of Tootsie Rolls before you go back to your hard diet. But when the weight gain is not the only problem, then we should be more cautious before eating our Tootsie Rolls. Especially when the problem involving gluten inside the candies that you want to eat, this will surely make everyone question are Tootsie Rolls gluten free or not because they want to be safe when eating it.
Information about Tootsie Rolls
Are Tootsie Rolls Gluten Free? Do Tootsie Rolls Have Gluten In It Or Not?
After we see the statement from Tootsie Rolls Company, we could be relieved to hear it because it means that we could eat their entire product except for their flavored cookie product. Moreover when they made their entire product to be gluten-free, then we would not have to be worried about the possibilities of cross contamination on their factory. Even when they use the same machine to make other flavor or even other confectioneries, but they are all gluten-free, so they would not leave any trace of gluten on the machine.
However, we still need to check the packaging of Tootsie Rolls when it is time for special holiday. Usually on the special holiday such as Christmas and Valentine people would purchase more confectioneries than before. It means that the company needs to make more confectioneries than what they usually made in regular season. When that thing happens, there might be one time that they have to use the machine that they use to make Andes Cookies to make Tootsie Rolls. When that thing happened, then the Tootsie Rolls is not gluten free anymore because it has been contaminated from the gluten trace inside the machine they use. This is why when there is a special holiday where the confectioneries are sold in large number, then on this season, we should pay more attention to the package to search whether they have called out if the special Tootsie Rolls product they made during the holiday season may contain gluten that comes from cross-contamination.
Everyone loves chocolate because of its sweetness and its bitterness. However, if you suffer from a celiac disease, you need to know whether your favorite foods or snacks like chocolate contain gluten. If you eat gluten, then you will get health problems such as anemia, vomit, diarrhea, and fatigue. Therefore, you need to know is chocolate gluten-free? Is safe for gluten intolerance people to eat snacks or foods that contain chocolate?
Important Information about Chocolate
If we talk about chocolate, then it comes in variation such as dark chocolate variation, milk chocolate variation, and white chocolate variation. The companies which sell chocolate often mix them with other ingredients. But the important question you need to answer is whether pure chocolate contains gluten? Pure chocolate does not taste sweet because they are made from cacao beans, and do not mix with other ingredients. So we can say that it is gluten-free and safe for your gluten-free diet. Unfortunately, not all people like pure chocolate because of its bitterness and of course it does not taste so good. They prefer sweet chocolate with extra ingredients.
Is Chocolate Gluten Free? Does Chocolate Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Chocolate which made from milk and with a combination of some cocoa butter, sugar, and other ingredients then you should be careful since this chocolate will become subject to gluten. Even though we do not doubt about its taste but for celiac disease people, you need to be careful to eat chocolate.
Cross Contamination of Chocolate
You cannot be sure that the pure chocolate you eat is gluten-free. If the equipment to process cocoa bean also used to process wheat, then it will be subject to cross-contamination. Moreover, not only when the chocolate is processed but also when the cacao bean is harvested together with wheat then they will also be contaminated with gluten. The bad news is the possibility of it will increase the chances of chocolate to be contaminated.
There is some chocolate candy contains gluten ingredients. For example in the form of wheat which usually used to make chocolate cookies or in the form of barley malt which usually used to make candy to add a sweet taste. Of course, there are chocolate candies that gluten-free, but still, they can be a subject of cross-contamination if they processed in the same facility to make foods or snacks that contain gluten ingredients. That is why many people often assume that chocolate is not gluten-free.
Goodinformation for Celiac Disease People who like Chocolate
Do not become despair since there still gluten-free chocolate which you can enjoy. You can purchase candy in the box such as See’s Candies but with some exception. Even if See’s Candies offers a gluten-free product for their chocolate, but you should be careful with the holiday items since usually they iced with gluten ingredients for the holiday theme decoration. Moreover, you still also need to check on their official website about which products are gluten-free and which products contain gluten. Besides chocolate candies, you can also find some chocolate bars which gluten-free.
Most celiac disease people often question about whether they foods or snacks gluten free or may contain gluten. Since celiac disease people sensitive to the gluten protein, it should not be weird if they always stay on guard when it comes to foods. We all know that most foods that come from rye, wheat, and barley are gluten free and should be avoided if you have gluten intolerance. The good news is there are companies that still care with celiac disease people and they make foods or snacks or candies that contain no gluten at all or maybe lower gluten protein level. What kind of foods or snacks or maybe candy? Well, one of the examples is Hershey kisses brand.
Are Hershey Kisses Gluten Free? Do Hershey Kisses have gluten in it or not?
Are Hershey kisses gluten free? Of course it is, and that is why we recommend you to include it on your gluten free diet snack or candy list. Hershey Kisses are considered gluten free enough to 20 ppm. These delicious candies or chocolates can be enjoyed by celiac disease people or gluten sensitivity. But, if you have high gluten intolerance level then you better avoid this chocolate brand and find another brand that considered to be gluten free to 10 ppm. Do not be worry because there is a lot of foods, snacks, and chocolates that considered gluten free to 10 ppm for higher gluten sensitivity.
Hershey Kisses are gluten free included the traditional Hershey Kisses wrapped in silver foil which you can only find during Halloween, Christmas, and of course Valentine day. Moreover, Hershey Kisses such as plain chocolate milk that is packaged inside plastic candy canes also considered to be gluten free. This plain chocolate milk only sold during Holiday season. Therefore, you need to grab it as fast as you can.
More good news for you, Hershey Kisses products such as chocolate with delicious cherry cordial crème and tasty caramel are gluten free to 20 ppm. To know more about this brand you can also check the ingredients on their official website. They will disclose to you whether the chocolate they sell is gluten free or not.
Watch Out for Hershey Kisses Brands that are not Gluten Free
Hershey Kisses brand also offers several products that are not gluten free. For example, you need to avoid buy Hershey Kisses brand such as milk chocolate kisses with almond, AirDelight kisses, candy cane flavored kisses, pumpkin spice kisses, Hugs kisses, and many more. Those products considered to not gluten free, so you should be careful.
It is possible that the gluten free Hershey Kisses mixed with gluten Hershey Kisses. There are several chocolates that have the same wrapper or packages, and you may pick the wrong gluten chocolates. For example, filled Kisses and Hugs Kisses both have the same wrappers, and sometimes people can be wrong to differentiate it. That is why; it is safe to buy only Hershey Kisses with bite-sized such as plain milk chocolate or other gluten free Hershey Kisses which we already mentioned earlier.
When you have celiac disease, you need to be very careful about anything you eat because you could not eat anything that contains gluten that becomes the source of the disease you have. That includes the bread that you might eat every morning because when you eat bread that contains gluten, then you would feel sick. That is why you need to use gluten free flour to make the bread. But when you want to bake something, you surely need to use baking powder according to the recipe. However, you need to know is baking powder gluten free?
Is Baking Powder Gluten Free? Does Baking Powder Have Gluten In It Or Not?
Baking Powder That Does Not Contain Gluten
You should know that the baking powder you need for your baking is made from baking soda that mixed with cream of tartar which is a bi-product from the production of wine then added with some starch to absorb the moisture. The last ingredient is where the problems come from; you should know that there are many kinds of starch used to make the baking powder. Some of the starch is gluten-free, but some contain gluten, this is why you should be careful when choosing the baking powder you use because some baking powder is gluten-free, but there are some that are not gluten-free. The kind of starch that is gluten-free is made from corn or potato. However, there is also starch that is made from wheat which surely not gluten-free.
When you want to choose a baking powder that is gluten-free, then you should make sure the ingredient that they use are gluten-free. The best thing that you could do is to find a gluten-free label on the package. However, when you want to be sure, you should also see the ingredient list on the package. When the list only writes starch as the ingredient without specifying which starch they use, then you should be suspicious about it because it could use wheat starch, but the most common starch used is usually made from corn.
Using your own gluten-free baking powder at home
When you want to be sure about the baking powder you use, then it would be better if you make your own baking powder. That way you could control what is inside the baking powder so there would not be any ingredient that contains gluten. We will give to you some recipe to make your own gluten-free baking powder.
For the ingredient, you should prepare the main ingredient such as one tablespoon of baking soda and then you should add two tablespoons of cream of tartar. To make it you just need to mix the two ingredients together, and after it all had been mixed, then you could use it right away. However when you want to store it, then you need to add one tablespoon of gluten-free starch which made from corn or potato. This starch is used to absorb the moisture from the baking powder so it would last longer. However, it would be better when you only make it when you need it.
What is your favorite food for breakfast? Most people would answer cereal especially Frosted Flakes, which is very delicious and sweet because of its sweet taste that mixed well with milk. However for people who are allergic to gluten, they should choose their breakfast cereal very carefully because they need to know whether there is some gluten inside the cereal they eat. Then are Frosted Flakes gluten free or not should be determined before you eat it.
Are Frosted Flakes Gluten Free? Do Frosted Flakes have gluten in it or not?
Information about Frosted Flakes
Most of Frosted Flakes in the market are made from cornflakes that are covered with sugar. When you see this you will easily say that the Frosted Flakes is gluten free, however you should not be tricked by the ingredient. Frosted Flakes uses artificial sugar such as malt and we all know that the malt is made from barley, and this grain is obviously not gluten free. That is why the true answer would be Frosted Flakes is not gluten free.
However, the Kellogg Company has made a statement on their website that their Frosted Flakes might still be suitable for gluten free diet since the malt does not contain a lot of gluten. That is why the company said that if the person who eats the Frosted Flakes is not too sensitive to gluten, then they would still able to eat them. However, that does not mean everyone can eat this food. The company only stated that it would be suitable for gluten free diet. It does not mean it would be suitable for you who has gluten allergy or worse for people who have celiac disease. That’s why you need to consult with your doctor before you eat this food. You have to know its ingredients to make sure you can eat it.
Option For Other Breakfast Cereal
When you could not eat Frosted Flakes, then there are actually many other breakfast menus that you could eat. For once the Kellogg Company has created Rice Krispies cereal in gluten free version. This version is different from the original version which also uses malt as their sweetener, they also use whole grain brown rice as the main ingredient. Since this new cereal does not contain malt then, it would be safe to consume by people who have gluten allergy or celiac disease.
However, when you purchase the gluten free version you should not choose the wrong product. The Kellogg Company has not replaced the original version, they only add a new version so you should be very careful. The gluten free version would have a box with blue and tan color combination while the original version would only have blue box color. The most important thing is to look for the gluten free signs which available in gluten free version so you would never be wrong when choosing it. With this new gluten free cereal, you do not need to worry again when finding replacement for your Frosted Flakes that contains gluten. Moreover, the new cereal is also as delicious as Frosted Flakes.
If you have celiac disease, then you should avoid from eating many things because you need to do a gluten-free diet which does not involve any gluten food inside. However this becomes harder when you do not know what you supposed to eat or whether the food you eat is free from gluten, even an ordinary thing like cornbread should always be careful because you never know is cornbread gluten-free or not. Because when it is not then you will get sick from all celiac disease symptoms that you do not expect to happen.
Is Cornbread Gluten Free? Does Cornbread Have Gluten In It Or Not?
What is inside the Cornbread?
To know whether the cornbread is gluten-free or not, of course, you should know what is inside the cornbread. There are actually many kinds of things that could be combined into your cornbread that is why you should watch out for it yourself. But what we want to talk about is the main ingredient that creates the cornbread itself. Like the name, this quick bread is made from cornmeal as the main ingredient then combines with another ingredient that would make the bread feels more delicious. However, there is another important that needed by the cornbread to cooked perfectly which is baking powder.
You should know that the baking powder is made from combination cream of tartar with some starch. And this starch is mainly made from wheat starch which contains gluten. And this is the one main source of gluten that should be available inside the cornbread which could make it contain gluten. And because of it, we could say that cornbread is not gluten-free.
Making the cornbread becomes gluten free
You could actually make your own cornbread so you could make sure that it only contains an ingredient that is gluten-free, thus makes the cornbread also gluten-free. For once you should always pay attention to the combination of ingredient that mixed into the cornbread to make it taste better since you need to make sure that you do not put anything that contains gluten inside. Then another main thing that you need to do is to make sure that you only use gluten-free baking powder. Actually there are many kinds of gluten-free baking powder that you could find on the market. What you need to do is to search for gluten-free label on the package of your baking powder. And once you could find it, then you could bake your own gluten free cornbread according to the recipe that you want to try.
You should also make sure that you only use gluten-free cornmeal for your cornbread. Of course the cornmeal is considered as a gluten-free ingredient; however, there are still ways that could make it become not gluten-free anymore through contamination. So you would need to only purchase your cornmeal from any manufacturer that could make sure there is no cross contamination that could get to your cornmeal, which could make all your effort to make your cornbread becomes gluten-free will be wasted.
When you are looking for an appetizer in Chinese restaurant, then you would often find egg rolls served to you. This dish is very delicious which will surely raise your appetite to eat more, but for you who have celiac disease, you could not just order any dish without knowing the ingredient. Because these egg rolls could make you lose appetite instead raising it when you feel sick after you eat them. That is why you should know are egg rolls gluten free or not before you even order it from the menu.
Are Egg Rolls Gluten Free? Do Egg Rolls have gluten in it or not?
Information of Egg Rolls
The egg rolls are actually many kinds of vegetable and meat that wrapped inside eggs in most traditional version. When you read this article, you might be sure that the egg rolls is gluten free. However, what you need to be careful is that the wrapper used as the dish is not only made from eggs because they usually add flour to make it crispy. The flour that used, of course, is not gluten free, which is why we could say that the egg rolls are not gluten free.
Making Your Own Egg Rolls
When the wrapper is the problem, then we could actually try to make egg rolls without any gluten inside the wrapper. What you need to use is the rice paper wrapper are available as a replacement for the wrapper.
First, you will need to have one quarter cup of soy sauce, half tablespoon of dry ground mustard, half tablespoon of ground ginger, and one tablespoon of garlic salt. Besides these ingredients, you also can add three cups of your favorite vegetables such as cabbage, bean sprout, and even carrots. After you add all of the ingredients in a large pan, then you can stir fry until the vegetable is tender and take out from the pan.
Prepare the meat in skillet and season it with salt and paper. Divide them into smaller pieces then cook it until they completely cooked. Add the vegetable in and mix them together, turn out the heat.
Prepare a plate with water inside so you could dip the rice paper wrapper inside for about 15 seconds before you take out and place it on a dry plate. Take the filling and place it into the upper middle part of the wrapper. Fold the upper area with the filling inside and fold the two sides inside as well. Roll up the wrapper so the filling would be completely covered, and side it aside. Do this step until all the filling is finished but do not put the egg rolls on top of each other because they could stick to each other.
Pour enough frying oil in the pan so you could dip the egg rolls inside the medium heat. Fry until the egg rolls turns into brownish color, make sure that you flipped the side so all side would be fried. Take out from the pan, and fry other egg rolls until you finish. You could eat the egg rolls with sauce and another dip that you like.